The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HOW-TO: Horde instal

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kerosin, Sep 19, 2002.

  1. kerosin

    kerosin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    1 - You have to recompile PHP with gettext support. Just add --with-gettext in the php ./configure line (see http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=4437 http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=4468 and http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=2968 to get some idea how to make custom compilation of PHP)

    2- Download file http://horde.nantucketkiteboarding.com/horde-CVS-09182002-cpanel.tgz (it's last CVS snapshot of Horde compressed by me - ready for Cpanel)

    3- Extract it somewhere you want to have horde files saved (for example /usr/local/wwwapps )

    4- Download file http://horde.nantucketkiteboarding.com/pear-horde.tgz (standard php PEAR libraries + some libs nondistributed with PHP but needed by Horde) and expand to /usr/local/lib (in archive is directory php/ so files will be in /usr/local/lib/php ) don't worry about overwriting files

    5- Download file http://horde.nantucketkiteboarding.com/horde_create.sql
    6- Change password in horde_create.sql on this line(it will be MySql password to horde database):

    -- IMPORTANT: Change this password!
    password('horde')

    7- Create database with all tables by this command:

    mysql --user=root --password=&MySQL-root-password& & horde_create.sql

    8- Edit files bellow and change ***** for password what you chose in step 6

    horde/config/conf.php
    horde/kronolith/config/conf.php
    horde/mnemo/config/conf.php
    horde/nag/config/conf.php
    horde/sam/config/conf.php
    horde/turba/config/sources.php

    9- in /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf bellow bandwidth alias add other one:

    Alias /horde/ /usr/local/wwwapps/horde/


    10- If you want your users to be able access horde as http://domain.com/webmail you have to change /usr/local/cpanel/base/wredirect.cgi (this file is rewriten by every Cpanel update - so I use bubblegum daemon[http://www.arbornet.org/~bjk/bubblegum/] to watch these changes and to change it back :) ) :

    #!/usr/bin/perl

    if ($ENV{'HTTP_HOST'} ne && ) {
    print &Location: http://$ENV{'HTTP_HOST'}/horde/\n\n&;
    exit;
    }

    print &Location: http://$ENV{'REMOTE_ADDR'}/horde/\n\n&;



    11- at this moment you should be able access Horde/IMP on http://www.domain.com/horde/ and(or) http://www.domain.com/webmail , if not something is wrong so write post about it.




    12- If you want to use SpamAssassin control application you have to:
    - make changes described in http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=4655
    - add line:

    /usr/bin/spamd -q -x -d --auto-whitelist

    in file /etc/rc.d/rc.local - for start SpamAssassin daemon at the startup

    - edit /etc/mail/spamassassin/local.cf and add lines:

    user_scores_dsn DBI:mysql:horde:localhost
    user_scores_sql_username horde
    user_scores_sql_password ******
    user_scores_sql_table sam_userpref

    -install perl modul 'Msql'


    Few additional notices:

    - I'm sure that I forgot something ;)

    - As you can see it doesn't look so easy , but for them who knows what they are doing in linux shell it is actually easy. And others stop reading miles before this line :eek: :)

    - This Horde version is still in development stage, but I use it on production server with no problem.

    - See http://horde.org for mailing lists and CVS informations

    - There is just one modification in the Horde made for Cpanel environment: modificated function _imp_hook_vinfo in horde/conf/hooks.php
     
  2. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    or you could just upcp .. but I'm getting ahead of myself (there was a motivation for adding imap support you know *grin*).
     
  3. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    8| Please warn us about future programs/scripts being implimented before surprising us with their presence out of the blue. I don't mean to sound like a pain or anything, I just like to know what's about to show up before it pops up out of nowhere.
     
  4. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:8d5e207f6a][i:8d5e207f6a]Originally posted by JustinK[/i:8d5e207f6a]

    8| Please warn us about future programs/scripts being implimented before surprising us with their presence out of the blue. I don't mean to sound like a pain or anything, I just like to know what's about to show up before it pops up out of nowhere.[/quote:8d5e207f6a]

    Should be in your WHM news... might need a shift+reload.
     
  5. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm braindead at the moment, so of course that would be the last place I think of looking. :D Now to go explain to everyone that uebimiau is going to disappear... At least it's easier to pronounce IMP. ;)
     
  6. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Just wonderig if its possible to create a feature under whm to select which mail program you wish to use, then it displays one of three pages:

    1. the one that loads now with both icons
    2. one with just neomail
    3. one with just horde

    This way those who wish to only give access to one can, would make it a load easier for our clients.

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
  7. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:436142b396][i:436142b396]Originally posted by bdraco[/i:436142b396]

    or you could just upcp .. but I'm getting ahead of myself (there was a motivation for adding imap support you know *grin*).[/quote:436142b396]
    Do we need gettext support in PHP to make IMP work? (as suggested in the 1st thread)
     
  8. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone know where cpanel installs horde?

    What would happen if I use the version downloaded from this thread to over write it and then add spamassasin support, will it all be over written in updates?

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
  9. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone know where cpanel installs horde?

    What would happen if I use the version downloaded from this thread to over write it and then add spamassasin support, will it all be over written in updates?

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
  10. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone?

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
  11. kerosin

    kerosin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde ;)


    these files are rewriten by update, but I don't know what would happen to new files , what is case of SAM module.



    I know I'm not clear so ask again ;) man
     
  12. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    As cpanel creates the horde database how do I drop all tables and data before I use the .sql file for your version?

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
  13. kerosin

    kerosin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Maybe it would be better don't use dtabase named 'horde' because next CPanel update can't overwrite user password (as happenned to me), but instead use file http://horde.nantucketkiteboarding.com/horde2_create.sql

    which will create database horde2 with user horde2 and you'll have to reflect this change in all of these horde files where you were changing db password before.


    Also database name and user has to be reflected in /etc/mail/spamassassin/local.cf if you plan to use SA integration.



    Have a great day
     
  14. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    How would I remove the database though for future reference?

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
  15. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Anyone tell me how to remove the horde database?

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
  16. ecoutez

    ecoutez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mysqladmin drop horde
     
  17. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Thanks for that.

    I have created the alias so that users can access horde using domain.com/horde/ however when entering this is just shows a list of files and not the horde login screen.

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
  18. ecoutez

    ecoutez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how about pointing it at domain.com/horde/index.php

    The CPanel web server (which serves the 2082, 2095 etc ports) doesn't appear to look for index.php as a default file.

    - Jason
     
  19. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:5d146433f6][i:5d146433f6]Originally posted by ecoutez[/i:5d146433f6]

    how about pointing it at domain.com/horde/index.php

    The CPanel web server (which serves the 2082, 2095 etc ports) doesn't appear to look for index.php as a default file.

    - Jason[/quote:5d146433f6]
    How do you create the /horde/ alias so people can log in as domain.com/horde (without the :2095 bit) ?
     
  20. ukhost

    ukhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    To create the alias you need to do the following:

    In /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf bellow bandwidth alias add another one:

    Alias /horde/ /path/to/your/horde/

    If using the default cPanel location for Horde the path would be:

    /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/

    Kind Regards,

    Neil
     
Loading...

Share This Page