The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How To: Install ASP (Apache::ASP) on CPanel

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by WebmastTroy, Jan 26, 2004.

  1. WebmastTroy

    WebmastTroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just got this working after many trial-and-error activities. Keep in mind, this is unsupported by both cPanel and me. I've been digging through documentation and through files to get this working. I'm here to hopefully save you the time that I've spent.

    First, root into your box through SSH.

    Code:
    cd ~
    wget [url]http://layer1.cpanel.net/apache-asp.sea[/url]
    chmod 700 apache-asp.sea
    ./apache-asp.sea
    
    You should see this going through some installation processes and things. Once it gets toward the end, it'll say that you may need to restart Apache. Don't worry about that yet.

    Once that's done, you'll need to setup Apache to work with Apache::ASP:

    Code:
    pico /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
    
    and find the section that has:

    Code:
    <Files ~ "^\.ht">
        Order allow,deny
        Deny from all
        Satisfy All
    </Files>
    
    Right below there, add:

    Code:
    ##  Apache::ASP Install Configuration
    
     PerlModule  Apache::ASP
     <Files ~ (\.asp)>
       SetHandler  perl-script
       PerlHandler Apache::ASP
       PerlSetVar  Global .
       PerlSetVar  StateDir /tmp/asp
     </Files>
    
    Next, find the section that looks like:

    Code:
    <IfModule mod_dir.c>
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.wml index.cgi index.shtml index.jsp index.js index.jp blah blah blah blah .....
    </IfModule>
    
    and add in there index.asp and default.asp so those are included as directory defaults (pages that load when no filename is given for a directory).

    Save and exit. In WHM, give Apache a restart and you should be set.

    Post here if you have problems so others can help. I don't program in ASP and don't claim to be the greatest when it comes to Linux so I'm not sure how much help I can give. The above worked for me so hopefully you have the same success.
     
  2. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    does Apache::ASP let users run MS .asp based sites???

    Im confused, biven that Sun ONE (chillisoft) costs a fortune per server and this is free?

    Do they do the same thing???
     
  3. Dreamer

    Dreamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Yes, but note... you're not going to succeed runing ASP sites which need MSSQL :)
     
  4. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes i had asumed that, was basically looking for the ability to run Front Page built sites that use FP databases
     
  5. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do yourself a favour and forget about installing this. It doesnt work. Try Chilisoft. At least it works.
     
  6. Dreamer

    Dreamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
     
  7. Silverado

    Silverado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backyard - Poolside
    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

    yes indeed... but in this instance you get what you pay for.
     
  8. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  9. mnaudon

    mnaudon Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Santiago de Chile
    ??

    but, Linux don't have support for access, so the last chance it's mysql o postresql or not?
     
  10. croakingtoad

    croakingtoad Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Roanoke, VA, US
    Does anyone know if you install Apache :: ASP if cpanel will overwrite it, thus requiring a reinstall, the next time apache is updated by cpanel?
     
  11. garanterad

    garanterad Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    apache dont start after install.

    after i did the guide up there ^
    apache wouldnt start again.
    only way to get it back again is to undo the changes.
    why is that?

    and since apache wont start i cant get asp to work.
     
    #11 garanterad, Mar 20, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2004
  12. thedead

    thedead Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Syntax error on line 442 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
    Can't locate Apache/ASP.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.4/i686-linux /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.4 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.4/i686-linux /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.4 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.0 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl . /usr/local/apache/ /usr/local/apache/lib/perl) at (eval 3) line 3.


    i get that...
     
  13. olivier222333

    olivier222333 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got this:
    /etc/init.d/httpd restart: configuration broken, ignoring restart
    /etc/init.d/httpd restart: (run 'apachectl configtest' for details)
     
  14. Game Wizards

    Game Wizards Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I get an internal server error. Anyone? :eek: :confused:
     
  15. OCX

    OCX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i mean this in the nice possiable way

    if you WANT ASP use a windows server..not a linux server..

    there are only a handfull of linux based asp scripts to use..

    where as windows server well..self explanitory.. :)
     
  16. markhard

    markhard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you need to re-install apache-asp after compiling/upgrade apache, after that restart apache
    this is because apache-asp is a module for apache (see the text on WHM, upgrade apache page)
     
  17. jeffheld

    jeffheld Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    financial capital

    ASP= another slow page
    use php and forget about asp. linux not winblows.
     
  18. Hades

    Hades Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Really?

    i am tryint to install this too, i will figure it out that not the issue.

    but is it true that not many asp pages work with it, i have someone who wants to use it with frontpage extensions so i am assuming he made his site in frontpage.

    Please only honest answers, not mad people ranting "yeah it sucks" i would like somone who installed it and uses it to tell me what they think.

    Thank you in advance!
     
  19. OCX

    OCX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    its not worth it to install this on a linux system....and thats the honest anwser..
     
  20. iko

    iko Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    problem

    I do what you have written on my test machine with RH9. Install was Ok. Apache restarted successfully but asp not working.

    Internal Server Error
    The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
    Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@domain.com and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

    More information about this error may be available in the server error log.


    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
     
Loading...

Share This Page