Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How to install SpamAssassin?

Discussion in 'Database Discussion' started by Izkabola, Aug 28, 2004.

  1. Izkabola

    Izkabola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    How do you install SpamAssassin on Redhat and get it to work?

    Thanks.
     
  2. kufel

    kufel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    NYC baby
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Izkabola

    Izkabola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Thank you.
     
  4. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Kind of on/off topic, has anyone hear any rumours of when SA3 will be included in cP>?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. fizz

    fizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
  6. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I'm aware of that. But I am still interested in having it in CP. I'm trying to decide if I want to build and install it or wait for it to come in the CP updates.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I did update throught Cpanel.. and it updated Spamassasin Automatically
     
  8. Harryhood

    Harryhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Gamehenge
    What update did you run in whm to get spam assisin to update? Was it any of the following?

    Update Server Software
    Update System Software
    Update Backend Scripts

    Thanks,

    Doug
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    /scripts/upcp
     
  10. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Did it update to SA 3.0?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    YEs!!!!
    Exactly..!
     
  12. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    maybe it depends on your Configuration for updates.. Current? Stable?I got current
     
  13. Harryhood

    Harryhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Gamehenge
    How do you view the spamassassin the version?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hmm.. I tried to update throught another server and didn't work...

    HMM?!?@?#?!@?#!@?#?!@

    Soon.. it's going to be updated :P
     
  15. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    But it did work once thoe
     
  16. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Damn, I'm on current and it didn't work. Must have to be on bleeding edge tree to make it work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. cretu

    cretu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi,

    I am on release version, however, I have noticed that /scripts/upcp updates SA only on some machines leaving others. Is there anything in configuration blocking SA update?

    Cretu
     
  18. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's nothing to do with the version of cPanel you are running. It's not really anything to do with upcp per se, it's whether the cpan mirrors your server is using has updated. All SpamAssassin is is a perl module. You can try to force the update using:

    /scripts/perlinstaller Mail::SpamAssassin

    If it doesn't update, take note of the date the mirror database was updated from the output of the above.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    /me awards you 5 points.

    boom shalaka-laka, we have a winner.

    root@box [/hoe/pro]# /usr/bin/spamassassin -V
    SpamAssassin version 3.0.0
    running on Perl version 5.8.1
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. leighj

    leighj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Mine updated....

    I ran /scripts/upcp

    My settings are
    CpanelWhml : Manual Stable
    Cpanel Package : Automatic
    Security Package : Automatic

    I don't see a difference but it said it updated...
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice