The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to install SpamAssassin?

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Izkabola, Aug 28, 2004.

  1. Izkabola

    Izkabola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How do you install SpamAssassin on Redhat and get it to work?

    Thanks.
     
  2. kufel

    kufel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC baby
  3. Izkabola

    Izkabola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you.
     
  4. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Kind of on/off topic, has anyone hear any rumours of when SA3 will be included in cP>?
     
  5. fizz

    fizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  6. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm aware of that. But I am still interested in having it in CP. I'm trying to decide if I want to build and install it or wait for it to come in the CP updates.
     
  7. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I did update throught Cpanel.. and it updated Spamassasin Automatically
     
  8. Harryhood

    Harryhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gamehenge
    What update did you run in whm to get spam assisin to update? Was it any of the following?

    Update Server Software
    Update System Software
    Update Backend Scripts

    Thanks,

    Doug
     
  9. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    /scripts/upcp
     
  10. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did it update to SA 3.0?
     
  11. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    YEs!!!!
    Exactly..!
     
  12. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    maybe it depends on your Configuration for updates.. Current? Stable?I got current
     
  13. Harryhood

    Harryhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gamehenge
    How do you view the spamassassin the version?
     
  14. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmm.. I tried to update throught another server and didn't work...

    HMM?!?@?#?!@?#!@?#?!@

    Soon.. it's going to be updated :P
     
  15. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    But it did work once thoe
     
  16. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Damn, I'm on current and it didn't work. Must have to be on bleeding edge tree to make it work.
     
  17. cretu

    cretu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I am on release version, however, I have noticed that /scripts/upcp updates SA only on some machines leaving others. Is there anything in configuration blocking SA update?

    Cretu
     
  18. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's nothing to do with the version of cPanel you are running. It's not really anything to do with upcp per se, it's whether the cpan mirrors your server is using has updated. All SpamAssassin is is a perl module. You can try to force the update using:

    /scripts/perlinstaller Mail::SpamAssassin

    If it doesn't update, take note of the date the mirror database was updated from the output of the above.
     
  19. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /me awards you 5 points.

    boom shalaka-laka, we have a winner.

    root@box [/hoe/pro]# /usr/bin/spamassassin -V
    SpamAssassin version 3.0.0
    running on Perl version 5.8.1
     
  20. leighj

    leighj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Mine updated....

    I ran /scripts/upcp

    My settings are
    CpanelWhml : Manual Stable
    Cpanel Package : Automatic
    Security Package : Automatic

    I don't see a difference but it said it updated...
     
Loading...

Share This Page