The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to install the centOS quick dvd?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by zenid, Nov 22, 2007.

  1. zenid

    zenid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I have a question:

    I have download the CPanel CentOS quick install dvd from this site: http://layer1.cpanel.net/CentOS-5.0-i386-bin-DVD-cPanel.iso

    But how to install cpanel with it? I have 2 times install the dvd and CentOS is working fine but none cpanel is there? how do i install it with cpanel?

    I have try at the boot of the dvd to type: "cpanel" so i boot with the command cpanel but only CentOS will installed on the server?
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  3. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The cpanel install will happen on the background on firstboot if the server is connected to the internet.

    You can check /var/log/cpanel-*.log
     
  4. westronf

    westronf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i do the install, but nothin happend after the first boot (i hav internet)

    I use the normal installer after? or run another command?
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So you're saying there's nothing in /var/log/ that begins with cpanel after your initial reboot?
     
  6. trini18

    trini18 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    having the same problem i did /var/log/cpanel-*.log and it shows -bash: /var/log/cpanel-autoinstall.1218645501.log: Permission denied

    on bootup i did see some sort of script start...but dont know it it started

    please help

    thanks:)
     
  7. djbob2

    djbob2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just to confirm: you have purchased a cPanel/WHM license, correct?

    You can't directly execute log files...
    Try this:
    tail /var/log/cpanel-autoinstall.1218645501.log
     
  8. NightRider

    NightRider Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What is the difference between this iso and the official one?
    Only that it automatically starts the installation of cpanel/whm?
    Or this is the most suitable centos version?

    Thx for answers.
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This ISO is for CentOS 5.0. It automatically installs CentOS in a cPanel/WHM-friendly way and installs cPanel/WHM upon the first reboot.

    From CentOS 5.0, you can upgrade to the latest CentOS version: 5.2.
     
  10. NightRider

    NightRider Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, that's good.
    Could you please mention how to upgrade OS to 5.2 after the install?
     
  11. NightRider

    NightRider Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Code:
    # yum update
    this command will be ok?
     
  12. addy

    addy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Use yum upgrade instead of usual yum update.
     
  13. NightRider

    NightRider Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Should I enable DNS Server in package manager, after time zone selection?
     
    #13 NightRider, Oct 30, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page