Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How to install xCache on EasyApache 4

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Neso, Aug 9, 2016.

  1. Neso

    Neso Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I installed xCache, like this:
    Code:
    wget https://xcache.lighttpd.net/pub/Releases/3.2.0/xcache-3.2.0.tar.gz
    tar -zxvf xcache-3.2.0.tar.gz
    cd xcache-3.2.0
    phpize
    ./configure --enable-xcache
    make
    make install
    
    and then I moved xcache.so to /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/lib64/php/modules/ from /usr/local/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20131226

    then I created xcache.ini in /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/etc/php.d with these settings:
    Code:
    extension="/opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/lib64/php/modules/xcache.so"
    xcache.admin.enable_auth="off"
    xcache.admin.pass="49d339c351f146c33a5e6ed5cb97dd69"
    xcache.admin.user="Neso"
    xcache.cacher="On"
    xcache.coredump_directory=""
    xcache.count="12"
    xcache.coveragedump_directory="/tmp/pcov/"
    xcache.coverager="Off"
    xcache.gc_interval="7200"
    xcache.mmap_path="/dev/zero"
    xcache.optimizer="Off"
    xcache.readonly_protection="Off"
    xcache.size="6114M"
    xcache.slots="256K"
    xcache.test="Off"
    xcache.ttl="14400"
    xcache.var_count="12"
    xcache.var_gc_interval="7200"
    xcache.var_maxttl="14400"
    xcache.var_size="1024M"
    xcache.var_slots="256K"
    xcache.var_ttl="14400"
    
    
    It show in php info that xcache is loaded: s3.amazonaws.com/upload.screenshot.co/4740d82014 but when I try to use it in script, it say Unable to use this backed.

    Did I missed something?

    Only xcache is enabled, I set permission on xcache.so like for other modules, 0755

    xcache diagnosis show this: s3.amazonaws.com/upload.screenshot.co/888056b5f6

    Any help would be great as I need xcache for my servers and I wish to move to EA 4
     
    #1 Neso, Aug 9, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 10, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    EasyApache 4 includes support for multiple versions of PHP, so you must utilize the PHP 5.6 SCL in EasyApache 4. Thus, the "phpize" command in your example should be:

    Code:
    /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/bin/phpize
    Note that EasyApache 4 does not any opcode cache out of the box, other than OPCache. This is documented at:

    PHP Options - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation

    Please add feedback to the existing feature request for XCache if you would like to see it implemented with EasyApache 4:

    XCache in EasyApache4

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mcpacific

    mcpacific Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    At
    ./configure --enable-xcache

    I get 'configure: error: Cannot find php-config. Please use --with-php-config=PATH'
     
  4. Neso

    Neso Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Just switch to opcache and memcahe ot prpvide better performance, I have moved from xCache in EA4
     
  5. mcpacific

    mcpacific Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I appreciate the feedback! I was trying to get opcache to work but I didn't have mod_socache_memcache installed. I'm still not get great page loads speeds, so I guess there's more work to do!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You may also want to add your feedback to the existing feature request for official Xcache support at:

    XCache in EasyApache4

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice