The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to know if suPHP is enabled

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by screege, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. screege

    screege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi I just recompiled my apache via /scripts/easyapache and when doing a info.php it does not reflect the module suPHP, although I went to the whm easy apache and when seeing the option list it tells suPHP is enabled is there any command line to see if it has been enabled? ALso I wanted to know if suPHP is the new phpsuexec?

    Thanks a lot
     
  2. screege

    screege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok I enabled it thru whm now I have some problems with all php scripts it gives me a 500 error, even the ones installed thru fantastico, is there anything that can be done for example an .htacess file or something? Any advice will be great.
     
  3. rgpayne

    rgpayne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    be sure your htaccess has no php values in them

    Suexec would run via php.ini for php settings such as global , magic quotes etc

    Also make sure that Fantasico KNOWS you are in su mode or everything will fail when doing fantasico installs
     
  4. MarcelB

    MarcelB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Where do I tell this to Fantastico, can't find this on Fantastico forums either.
     
  5. screege

    screege Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is it under settings?

    PHPsuexec

    PHPsuexec is

    Note: this will not enable or disable PHPsuexec on your server. It will only configure Fantastico to work with it, if your server has PHPsuexec enabled.
     
  6. MarcelB

    MarcelB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is that the setting to enable ?

    PHPSuExec is something different from SuPHP, so I wonder if changing this is correct.
     
    #6 MarcelB, Aug 21, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2008
  7. MarcelB

    MarcelB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  8. Doug E

    Doug E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This isn't totally on topic to original post but it may help someone finding this thread in a search...

    to know if suexec is enabled in whm go to ...

    Main >> Service Configuration >> Apache Configuration >> PHP and SuExec Configuration

    current configuration..
    Apache suEXEC on

    I assume this means its enabled.
     
  9. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Via root SSH access the following command may be used to display the default PHP version, the current status of suEXEC, and the current Apache PHP Request Handler, such as DSO, CGI, FastCGI/FCGID, suPHP, or "none":
    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_phpconf --current
    Here is an example of the output:
    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_phpconf --current
    Available handlers: suphp dso fcgi cgi none
    DEFAULT PHP: 5
    PHP4 SAPI: suphp
    PHP5 SAPI: suphp
    SUEXEC: enabled
    For additional reference, please see the following documentation articles:
    WHM: Main >> Service Configuration >> Apache Configuration >> PHP and SuExec Configuration
    Configuring PHP and suEXEC from the Command Line
    Apache PHP Request Handling
     
Loading...

Share This Page