The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Limit MySQL space

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by equens, Oct 8, 2003.

  1. equens

    equens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    Somebody knows how to limit the MySQL space to one data base or all data bases under username/account ?

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You can't.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. equens

    equens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ops!

    I think it's very important... I have too many customers with more than 40 or 60 megas and I need to stop this.

    Thanks!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    submit a ticket and request this feature.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Ops!

    You can move the database to their account, Not sure exactly how it is done but it can be done. Perhaps someone here has done it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok then, by popular request

    This is only the command line text. If someone would like to turn this into a bit more I would like a return copy of the "improved" version.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Very cool.
     
  8. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
  9. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually a better answer to the original question but we had to have a solution for guys using more than 10% of the original account size, We then had problems of keeping up with quota change requests. It was just easier for us to "move" the db to an already managed area of ones account.
     
  10. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    It's not a question of "moving", but of "owning". As long as the files are owned by the user, the DB size will count against the user's quota. In fact, IMO, it's better to keep the databases as far as possible from your customers, so it's harder for them to tamper with them and possibly break them.
     
  11. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well maybe things have changed but I know on one of my older servers mysql did NOT count against the user quota
     
  12. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    You're right, quota can be configured differently for each partition.
     
Loading...

Share This Page