The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to make free space in Cpanel server.

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by imran_khan, Sep 25, 2013.

  1. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have shared cpanel and now my server’s disk goes to 99% and have cleared the logs from /var/log/*.
    Please let me know, how to clear the user log so I can make free space or let me know other way?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  2. HostingH

    HostingH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Imran,

    Please check Apache error/access/suphp and domlogs. Also check mysql logs under /var/lib/mysql/ur.hostname.com.err.
    Using WHM >> List account >> Disk space usage, there you can sort the users as per their disk usage and then you can take necessary action on particular user. You can delete unwanted backup or tar files from home or users home.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,667
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please review the following document:

    Managing Hard Drive Space

    Check to see which directories are using up the most space so you can get idea of what can be removed.

    Thank you.
     
  4. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Thanks Rajguru.

    How can I delete particular user mail log?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  5. HostingH

    HostingH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Imran,

    There is no any such mail log file for particular user. All users mail log files is /var/log/exim_mainlog
     
  6. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can I delete .maillog.swp log file under /var/log folder?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  7. HostingH

    HostingH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes you can delete it.
     
  8. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can I run /scripts/runlogsnow this command on my cpanel server?
    Will it affect to anything?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  9. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    /scripts/runlogsnow will update the all user webalizer stats on your server.

    Also I will suggest you find out which user is using lot of disk space and check that user files may be user error_log is using the that space in that account.
     
  10. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Thanks,

    Actually, I know who is using more space. This is a shared hosting virtual machine on Hyper V with etx3 root partition. Also disk type is fixed. Technically I can not increase the size of ext3 partition but I can increase it using gparted.

    If will go to increase disk space using gparted then fixed disk take more time to increase on Hyper V and current disk size is 300 GB.

    So is there anyway to add additional disk on the same virtual machine and map the /home/ partition on it. Means after adding second disk, users account directly create on disk two not disk one.

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  11. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have find out the solution.I will add the second drive on my virtual machine, create the partition and mount the /home2 directory on it.

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  12. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have searched and found that, It possible to move existing cpanel account from /home to /home2 using "WHM Home » Account Functions » Rearrange an Account" option but just I want to know, how much time it take to transfer from /home to /home2 for 5GB size account?

    Also let me know, is there any thing need to be done in WHM or Cpanel after mounting second hard disk partition on /home2?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,667
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It depends on your server's specific hardware. It should take no more than 5 minutes.

    If you have already mounted the new drive as /home2, cPanel/WHM will automatically detect it as a new home directory that's available for accounts.

    Thank you.
     
  14. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,

    Thanks for the quick reply. Really appreciate....

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  15. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,

    For testing purpose, I have followed the below steps but getting error. I am doing this on single hard disk with single /home partition, /home2 directory and

    1). Create /home2 directory.
    2). Create cpanel account from the whm.
    3). Click on "WHM Home » Account Functions » Rearrange an Account".

    Error:-

    boot does not match “home”
    Sorry, there is only one usable partition detected on this machine matching “home”

    Is /home2 required on second hard disk? or I can do it on same hard disk with two partitions i.e. /home and /home2?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,667
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The "/home2" directory does not have to be on a separate drive, but it must at least be a separate partition to be considered a separate home directory.

    Thank you.
     
  17. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,

    Thanks.

    I have below queries on moving cpanel accounts from /home to /home2 partition.

    1). If during moving process my internet disconnect or server’s internet disconnect when will data destroy/lost?
    2). During moving process can I access cpanel, webmail, mail, database and website of that particular account?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  18. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,667
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the server loses connection during this time then the rearrange process may need to be completed again when the connection is restored. Data is only being moved so there should be no lost data. Is it common for your server to lose connection? If so, you should get that issue resolved before proceeding to use this option.

    It's possible there will be "File Does Not Exist" errors during this time frame. It should only last a few minutes for large accounts so you should refrain from those actions until it completes.

    Thank you.
     
  19. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,


    You mean to say during moving process down time will happen?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  20. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,667
    Likes Received:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There may be a small time frame when a file is not accessible. It's typically not noticeable due to the short amount of time it takes for the process to move the files and setup the symbolic link.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page