The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to make hostnames for 2 vps on same domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Etreby, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. Etreby

    Etreby Registered

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hurghada, Egypt
    i have a few questions

    1 - i have 2 vps's and one domain can i make one vps host name server1.itssss.com and the other server2.itssss.com and what is the name servers i should put on this domain both are ruining cpanel 11.32+?

    2 - can i make the 2 vps mirrored to each other files mail dns etc... ?

    3 - the future when you create a account for mail backup Exchange mail server i read the documentation and it's not making any sense what should i do i create the primary mail server on server1.itssss.com and create the backup on server2.itssss.com and add a mx record with lower priority to server1.itssss.com which in case the server1.itinsss.com is down how it gona deliver to server2 and how server2 gona push the mail back to the first one ?

    i know this a noby questions but really i need answers i tried Google and every thing
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, you can utilize subdomains of the same domain name for the hostname of your two servers. The name servers should be different unless you are setting up a DNS Cluster. One server could use:

    ns1.example.com
    ns2.example.com

    The other could use:

    ns3.example.com
    ns4.example.com

    There are no native features to mirror two or more cPanel servers, beyond the ability to setup a remote MySQL server and use a DNS Cluster. There is a feature request open for this at:

    Mirroring cPanel servers

    You would need to ensure that the DNS is hosted on a remote server. This way, if your first server is down, DNS is still handled elsewhere which would allow use of the secondary MX server for email purposes. In such a scenario, you would need to have the domain name and email accounts setup on both servers. Email data would not be synced automatically unless you use a third-party solution.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Etreby

    Etreby Registered

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hurghada, Egypt
    Ok I add ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com for server1.example.com
    And I added ns3.example.com and ns4.example.com for server2.example.com

    What should I do in the example.com name server should set it to ns1 and sn2 only or should I point it to the for ns1 and ns2 ns3 and ns4
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It depends on which server will be hosting "example.com". Create all four name servers at the domain registrar with the appropriate IP addresses. Then, set the name servers for "example.com" to the ones used by the server that hosts it's website.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Asri Zainal

    Asri Zainal Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    This may be old, sorry.

    but just to confirm that i need to register the nameservers from my domain registrar as follows.
    ns1.domain.com - first IP from VPS 1
    ns2.domain.com - second IP from VPS 1
    ns3.domain.com - first IP from VPS 2
    ns4.domain.com - second IP from VPS 2

    after that setting up the each individual VPS with their nameservers
    ns1.domain.com & ns2.domain.com to VPS 1
    ns3.domain.com & ns4.domain.com to VPS 2

    lastly if i want VPS 2 to host domain.com
    i need to update the nameserver at domain registrar to point to ns3.domain.com & ns4.domain.com instead of all 4 nameservers.

    hope i got this right.

    thank you.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that method is correct if you have multiple VPS servers and want to use separate name servers for each VPS from the same domain name.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page