The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to make subdomains work with www

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sanam, Aug 11, 2002.

  1. sanam

    sanam Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    how is it possible to make the subdomains work with &www& in front of them.

    Thank You
     
  2. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ?

    I don't think it's possible.

    It would impressive if you can figure it out.

    Good luck,

    Charles
     
  3. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:7885deef05][i:7885deef05]Originally posted by sanam[/i:7885deef05]

    Hi,

    how is it possible to make the subdomains work with &www& in front of them.

    Thank You

    [/quote:7885deef05]

    Hi Sanam

    Two ways either you add the subdomain as a seperate account which will create the subdomains seperate zone and in that it will have a www alias to the subdomain.

    The second option can be worked out with the zone files.

    Go to WHM - DNS Function - Edit DNS Zone

    Select the DNS Zone which has the subdomain you want. Add the CNAME Entry

    www.subdomain.maindomain.com. IN CNAME subdomain.maindomain.com.

    have a nice time
    Parag
     
  4. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You could just edit the httpd.conf, add a ServerAlias for www.sub.domain.com - or change the ServerName to www.sub.domain.com and add sub.domain.com as a ServerAlias - and restart apache.
     
  5. Captain_cashflow

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just setup the subdomain as you would a normal domain in your WHM. This way the subdomain gets its own control panel, email and other unique features. And yes, you can access the subdomain via www.name.domain.com. Your email is also bob@name.domain.com too :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page