The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to migrate users of Ppostfix for Cpanel?

Discussion in 'Migrate to cPanel' started by fmaielos, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. fmaielos

    fmaielos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello everyone,

    I have several domains on a Postfix server, I want to migrate everything to my cpanel, is it possible?


    Tnx all ... =]
     
  2. fmaielos

    fmaielos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ps. I need to migrate users, passwords have no need.


    Ideas?
    Tks
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I've moved your thread to the Migrate to cPanel forum.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does your current Postfix server use maildir and what is the IMAP/POP3 mail server being used with it? Is it Courier or Dovecot? If you use the same IMAP and POP3 mail server on the cPanel machine and the postfix machine has maildir for it, it should be a simple matter of copying the folder and file contents from the existing structure to /home/username/mail/domain.com/emailuser location where username is the cPanel username, domain.com is the domain name, and emailuser is the email account username without the @domain.com portion.

    The best way to handle this would be to create the email accounts in cPanel first, then move the data. This way, you don't have to worry about users or passwords only the email content.
     
  5. fmaielos

    fmaielos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Good morning,

    I am using IMAP/POP3 and Courier, did tests and data migration will be easy.
    But I need help to migrate the accounts, because I have many domains and manually migrate an overwhelming task. Could you help with this?

    Many Thankss ...


     
  6. fmaielos

    fmaielos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry I was wrong, I'm using Dovecot ...
     
    #6 fmaielos, Apr 7, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2011
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are using Dovecot on both machines, then it is simply a matter of copying the data once the email accounts already exist on the cPanel machine.

    If you are using a control panel that we support for migrating (Plesk, Ensim, DirectAdmin), then we could assist with the migration for you. If you aren't using one of the supported migration control panels, then we can help to answer questions, but we wouldn't be able to perform any of the migration work itself.
     
  8. fmaielos

    fmaielos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Good afternoon,

    The only interface used in the current server is postfixadmin, nothing more. = [
     
  9. fmaielos

    fmaielos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have approximately 50 domains, I will capture the passwords for Sniffer, need help to migrate the accounts to automatically with a script, can you help me?
     
  10. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Then this would have to be done manually on your end, although we would be happy to answer questions as I have done so far.
     
Loading...

Share This Page