The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to move accounts from one server to another

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by punjabipredator, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. punjabipredator

    punjabipredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would like to know how i can help move my clients accounts from his old server to my server? Can this be done and how. Please let me know. Thank You.
     
    #1 punjabipredator, Dec 6, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2006
  2. Nhojohl

    Nhojohl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I found this a long time ago when I had to transfer accounts from one server to another...

    If you have root access this way works extremely well, especially if you'd like to do each account one by one and at separate times.

    http://forums.ev1servers.net/printthread.php?t=62173

    hope it helps
    ---
    Posted this in another thread related to this also...
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=61371
     
  3. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check under the "Transfers" menu in WHM. If you don't have this menu in WHM it's probably because you are a reseller, and it only shows up under root WHM logins. The menu choices here totally automate the transfer, although they're not completely reliable and sometimes you have to revert to the manual method mentioned above.

    There is an option that you might be able to enrol your provider in if you're a reseller. There's a tool called "whmreseller" which costs around $20US a server and allows you to do automated copies without needing root WHM access. The package can be found at http://deasoft.com/software.php ... don't have a lot of experience with it, but it's mature and seems to work and I haven't heard anything negative about it, which is a good sign!
     
  4. mrprez

    mrprez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can go into the old Cpanel and do a complete backup. Then FTP the backup file to the new server. Put that file in the /home folder. Then go to WHM and do a complete restore.

    John
     
  5. punjabipredator

    punjabipredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Cpanel

    I know how to transfer if i have root access from one server to another but i have a client who does not have root access and neither do i and i want to know if there is a way he can transfer his accounts to my server?
     
  6. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You can have him generate a home backup and then you can connect to his account via ftp from your shell or any other method and go from there.

    If the account is a massive forum or something to that effect, you may need to grab the databases and file seperately due to ftp transfer size.
     
  7. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As a user without root, you can't restore a full backup or run the "copy account" WHM operations, so basically you're stuck with a very time consuming and error-prone restore process.

    In most cases, your webhosting company will do an account copy, or restore a full backup, without charge, so the fastest way would be to supply them with all the details in one hit and ask them to do the copy. You need to give them your reseller name, and the URL, the username and password for the account to be copied. They'll need to change the reseller name to yours after uploading the account to your server, remind them if they forget. You'll need to coordinate with them to change the nameservers after the copy - also change the MX record to point to a domain on the new server as soon as the copy is complete to avoid email going to the old server and getting lost.
     
  8. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    On a relevant note, there is a product called "WHM reseller" - URL http://deasoft.com/software.php . I don't have a lot of experience with the product but I've been watching for a while and it looks like it works. Please post experience if you manage to get your webhost to buy it - it's cheap at Aussie $29.95 - about US$23 - for a year.

    I sounds a bit like an ad here - please note I have no affiliation with these guys at all!
     
Loading...

Share This Page