The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to park domains in an Addon domain?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Wabun, Oct 6, 2012.

  1. Wabun

    Wabun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry, but I struggle a bit with this part and hope I can get some help here.
    I have 3 domains with a different tld, I Addon one of the domains, but now I am struggling how to add the 2 other domains so they will point to the same website I want set-up in this Addon folder.

    Before doing something wrong I thought I better ask here :)

    Thankz.
     
  2. pwhjenny

    pwhjenny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can't that do from the cPanel itself. But if you have access to the server, you may can use ServerAlias option or may also alter the document root. But before doing that take backup of httpd.conf.
     
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. Wabun

    Wabun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @cPanelTristan, This was the perfect solution, it created indeed 3 sub domains and 3 FTP accounts, but that's fine for me, I pointed the 2 other domains to same Document Root path and it is like the 2 others are parked now, I don't mind that there are 3 different stats :) Could be even handy sometimes to know how the other tld is performing.

    Thank you ever so much :)
     
  5. MontysDouble

    MontysDouble Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    @cPanelTristan: Just two additional questions about this:

    Firstly, does the FTP account that is created automatically for the original addon domain get affected in anyway (".ftpquota" etc) when additional FTP accounts with the same document root are automatically created for these additional domains?

    Secondly, both Addon domains and Parked domains have a 'Manage Redirection' option beside them. How does the method you discuss here compare with just redirecting them to the main addon domain you want?
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The FTP account for the addon domain will not be affected by parking a domain onto it.

    A redirection isn't the same as parking a domain. A redirected domain will show the redirected domain name in a browser rather than the original domain (addon or parked). A parked domain will show the name of the original parked domain because it isn't redirected. Parking a domain places it onto another domain, but keeps the parked domain name in a browser.
     
  7. MontysDouble

    MontysDouble Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks for the reply.

    Sorry, I should have said my own (final) objective was to have the original addon domain showing.

    I have only ever used a 'parked' domain in advance of redirecting using .htaccess in the past. I forgot that some people may NOT have wanted this behaviour as their FINAL end objective. So I should not (on reflection) have resumed this thread but a new one.

    ---

    I have an addon domain, "addondomain.com", with it's root as 'public_html/addondomain.com/'.

    I want to have the hypenated version "addon-domain.com" and other TLD version "addondomain.tld" etc redirect to the main "addondomain.com".

    If this was the main domain on the account ("maindomain.com"), I would just have parked them ("main-domain.com"). Then redirected them using .htaccess in the public_html.
    [Using .htaccess rather than cpanel redirect to aviod multiple redirects, as the .htaccess redirect will be needed anyway for another reason.]


    My initial thought was to take the approach you gave above, an addon domains with the same root as the main addon domain, so that a single .htaccess redirect could tidy some other things up.

    However I was worried about if it was messy behind the scenes in the config as a result.

    So I was wondering if a normal parked domain "addon-domain", on the "maindomain.com" root, with a cpanel redirect to "addondomain.com", before it then hits .htaccess rewrite was safer, even though the double redirect.

    Hope that makes sense. Again on balance sorry for using this thread, I wrongly assumed others would have had the same (final) objective.
     
    #7 MontysDouble, Oct 26, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The better idea probably would be to park them onto the main domain, then redirect them to the addon domain. It's easier to park onto the main domain anyway, and easier to have the rewrite code in the main domain folder.
     
  9. MontysDouble

    MontysDouble Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yes, actually that would be a way to do it.

    If I park normally:
    "addon-domain.com"
    "addondomain.tld"

    I can just put a version of the rewrite rules in the main domain root to handle them. That way when they do hit 'addondomain.com', everthing else that I want to rewrite will have been corrected in a single rewrite anyway, so no double bounce and it keeps things neat and tidy in cpanel.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page