The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Partition a New Server for cPanel ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by checked, Sep 10, 2005.

  1. checked

    checked Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have just got my new server Fedorra Core 2 + 120Gb HDD but as I want to install cPanel on it so I have to partition it remotely (SSH).

    Anyone knows how can I create partition as cPanel suggested :

    /boot 35 Megabytes (Mb)
    /usr 2048+ Mb (If you have a 60 gig drive try 4096 for /usr, 5000 if you have an 80 gig drive, etc.)
    /var 1500+ Mb
    /tmp 512+ Mb
    / 1024 Mb
    /home grow to fill disk
    swap 2x memory size

    I did :
    #df -hT
    Filesystem Type Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda3 ext3 111G 2.0G 104G 2% /
    /dev/hda1 ext3 97M 15M 78M 16% /boot
    none tmpfs 248M 0 248M 0% /dev/shm

    #fdisk -l /dev/hda
    Disk /dev/hda: 122.9 GB, 122942324736 bytes
    16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 238216 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 203 102280+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 204 4364 2097144 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda3 4365 238216 117861408 83 Linux


    can Anyone help me how can I create Partition for cPanel ?

    PM me with your charges if you anyone can do it with a Charge for your services ?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You're meant to partition your system when you install your OS otherwise it can be next to impossible after the fact. It would be much simpler to start again with the OS install and have it partitioned correctly then.
     
  3. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    if your using just a single drive there is nothing wrong with how you have the partitions done. /scripts/securetmp can secure the tmp directory. I am sure someone will disagree with me on this but for single drive systems this is how we do it so
    I do not see any reason to go to the trouble to reload the system just to repartition
     
Loading...

Share This Page