The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to partition server with RAID 1/10

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lunixcpanel, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. lunixcpanel

    lunixcpanel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I am trying to partition my server before installing CentOS and cPanel.

    I have hardware RAID 1/10

    On RAID 1 I would have

    /
    /boot

    On RAID 10 I would have

    /tmp
    /usr
    /var
    /var/log
    2 GB swap
    /home

    Is it correct partionining setup?
     
  2. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,

    How much space is each partition getting and overall? On my cPanel servers I typically make swap, /, /boot, and home. with home being the bulk of the space.
     
  3. lunixcpanel

    lunixcpanel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi cpanelerice,

    You did not help me much. Do you have hardware RAID?

    I have RAID 1 and RAID 10. Why wouldn't I want to utilize it for at least
    /var
    partition on RAID 10?
     
  4. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I run the same setup.


    For flexibility in any *nix environment, cPanel recommends a simple partition scheme (as the one stated above).



    However you can setup the following.

    Advanced Options: cPanel Pre-Installation


    What is your goal in setting up a RAID 10 on the following partitions?
    /tmp
    /usr
    /var
    /var/log
    2 GB swap
    /home

    Thanks,
    Adam
     
  5. lunixcpanel

    lunixcpanel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    RAID 10 is recommended for MySQL (more writes)
    thus I would like to have
    /var
    on RAID 10.

    Am I wrong?
     
  6. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Then why don't you host MySQL on a different server (remote MySQL server)? Do you see my point?


    I have a very active MySQL server, about 300 queries per second running nothing more than RAID 1 on all the partitions and server runs just as fine with no lag or problems.


    You can always setup your partitions later should you so require RAID 10 or go that route.

    Basically just keep it simple....

    Thanks,
    Adam
     
  7. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,

    You could always make some Raid 1+0 space for just /var/lib/mysql if you wanted to, but a lot of other things need space on var, so leave plenty of room for them.
     
  8. lunixcpanel

    lunixcpanel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    to HelloAdam:

    I am trying to keep it simple.

    why don't I host MySQL on a different server?
    Because I already have one server with hardware RAID 1/10.

    It seems to me that putting /var on a separate partition(on RAID 10) now(before installing cPanel)
    would be easier than doing it later. Don't you think?
     
  9. GlobolStaff

    GlobolStaff Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi


    this is a good solution.I agree with you.

    website maintain
     
Loading...

Share This Page