The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to protect DOMAIN.com/BANDWIDTH/

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by H2Hosting.com, Apr 9, 2002.

  1. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How to protect DOMAIN.com/BANDWIDTH/ from visits?

    Thanks
     
  2. Domenico

    Domenico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    With .htaccess in /usr/local/bandmin/htdocs
     
  3. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Thanks Dom just did this on my server =]. Good to do this cause anyone knowing you use cpanel/whm can see your customers and email them better offers etc etc. They can try stealing customers since domains are listed.

    EDIT

    300 posts I am the man :)
     
  4. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Good idea!
     
  5. Craig

    Craig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wouldnt it be better to maybe have WHM be the only thing thats allowed to call bandmin?
    like the service-status for apache in whm?

    Craig
     
  6. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what do you put in the .htaccess file? I have only seen FP2002 files. is it the same content?
     
  7. avara

    avara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Why not edit the httpd.conf file to only allow viewing of /BANDWIDTH from your IP address? I think that would be the easiest way.
     
  8. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:8b738af307][i:8b738af307]Originally posted by avara[/i:8b738af307]

    Why not edit the httpd.conf file to only allow viewing of /BANDWIDTH from your IP address? I think that would be the easiest way.[/quote:8b738af307]

    Not for most people that have a different IP everyday. my IP's are leased at 6 months, maybe different per isp
     
  9. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:0dc0b9fad1][i:0dc0b9fad1]Originally posted by TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE[/i:0dc0b9fad1]

    what do you put in the .htaccess file? I have only seen FP2002 files. is it the same content?[/quote:0dc0b9fad1]

    You have to create a password file and set up an .htaccess

    After connecting to your server via ssh, enter these commands (change USERNAME to whatever you want)

    /usr/local/apche/bin/htpasswd -c /usr/local/bandmin/.passwd USERNAME

    create .htaccess with pico by typing

    pico /usr/local/bandmin/htdocs/.htaccess

    .htaccess should contains:

    AuthType Basic
    AuthName &Only Authorized Individuals&
    AuthUserFile /usr/local/bandmin/.passwd
    Require user USERNAME
     
  10. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    I patched train up last night. His server isn't affected anymore.
     
  11. BJMG

    BJMG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    HT* Script

    I created [b:4e6e1d1241]this script[/b:4e6e1d1241] for my customers to use during our PRE-CPANEL days. Hope it helps.
     
  12. SWR

    SWR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    [quote:191696d9c9][i:191696d9c9]Originally posted by itf[/i:191696d9c9]

    [quote:191696d9c9][i:191696d9c9]Originally posted by TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE[/i:191696d9c9]

    what do you put in the .htaccess file? I have only seen FP2002 files. is it the same content?[/quote:191696d9c9]

    You have to create a password file and set up an .htaccess

    After connecting to your server via ssh, enter these commands (change USERNAME to whatever you want)

    /usr/local/apche/bin/htpasswd -c /usr/local/bandmin/.passwd USERNAME

    create .htaccess with pico by typing

    pico /usr/local/bandmin/htdocs/.htaccess

    .htaccess should contains:

    AuthType Basic
    AuthName &Only Authorized Individuals&
    AuthUserFile /usr/local/bandmin/.passwd
    Require user USERNAME[/quote:191696d9c9]I tried this; but now I can't even access the page. Not that I ever did before and don't know why I would want to again. But, the question is; is it going to cause any problems?
     
  13. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:db9d321823][i:db9d321823]Originally posted by SWR[/i:db9d321823]

    [quote:db9d321823][i:db9d321823]Originally posted by itf[/i:db9d321823]

    [quote:db9d321823][i:db9d321823]Originally posted by TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE[/i:db9d321823]

    what do you put in the .htaccess file? I have only seen FP2002 files. is it the same content?[/quote:db9d321823]

    You have to create a password file and set up an .htaccess

    After connecting to your server via ssh, enter these commands (change USERNAME to whatever you want)

    /usr/local/apche/bin/htpasswd -c /usr/local/bandmin/.passwd USERNAME

    create .htaccess with pico by typing

    pico /usr/local/bandmin/htdocs/.htaccess

    .htaccess should contains:

    AuthType Basic
    AuthName &Only Authorized Individuals&
    AuthUserFile /usr/local/bandmin/.passwd
    Require user USERNAME[/quote:db9d321823]I tried this; but now I can't even access the page. Not that I ever did before and don't know why I would want to again. But, the question is; is it going to cause any problems?[/quote:db9d321823]
    It has worked for all others, you can try as much as you want that will not cause any problem to your system
    focus on the USERNAME and the locations,

    If you would like I can do it for you too.
     
  14. marius

    marius Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest
    bandwidth deny acces

    In httpd.conf put this

    &Directory /usr/local/bandmin/htdocs/&
    Order deny,allow
    Allow from xxx.xxx.xxx.0/24
    Deny from all
    &/Directory&

    Where xxx.xxx.xxx.0/24 is the IP class from where you are connectig.
    If you change your IP address at every 6 month, simply connect to the server and edit the IP.
     
Loading...

Share This Page