The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to push emails?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Lindsayanng, Nov 24, 2009.

1. Lindsayanng

Lindsayanng Member

PLEASE forgive me. I am very new to this whole server thing. I just got my own server and while the guy who is managing it for me is great, there are some answers that i need that I can't get.

I know very little about how the mail system works with my server and cpanel. I do know that i would LIKE to have email pushed out from the server to my mail apps (on the iphone and apple mail)

I have no idea how to achieve this.. Are there any articles explaining this? Like i said, I do not know too much about it. All i know is that when i google "webmail push" or "cpanel push email" i get a whole lot of NOTHING!!

So how do i set up email so that it automatically pushes a brand new email out to the applications?? And is this something that I can make as an added feature to my web host clients?

I really only host the people whos websites I have built, so i do not really reselll hosting.. just an added feature that would be nice to offer to peole as an addon.

2. thewebhostingdi

thewebhostingdi Well-Known Member

You will have to configure your email accounts in your application tool to fetch the email from the server. May I know what email application tool are you using to fetch emails?

3. Lindsayanng

Lindsayanng Member

I know you can configure it to fetch the emails at intervals (i use the iphone AND apple mail) but both support PUSH email. I have read about creating PUSH email using IMAP options like IDLE IMAP which maintains a connections with the client and just pushes through the email in real time.. i would just like to knowhow this would work. How to set up something like this.