The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to remove ClamAV Scanner

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rohit09, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. rohit09

    rohit09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My server has cento 4

    I tried
    Code:
    Redhat/Fedora: yum remove clamav*
    but it shows
    Code:
    No Packages marked for removal
    Please Help me.

    My all other accounts facing problem
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,477
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you installed ClamAV from: WHM > cPanel > Manage Plugins, untick the checkbox there and then click Uninstall ClamAV Connector.


    About this:

    I'm not exactly sure what the error is telling us, but I do know that 192.168.1.2 is a local IP for your computer for example, nothing on the server should be using that IP anywhere. If you're running cPanel on your home server you'll need to be sure you've got a dedicated IP address or cPanel will not operate as expected.
     
  3. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    InfoPro... I don't wish to run ClamAV on a particular box, and I have never checked the box "install and keep updated" for ClamAv, but still, each morning, I've been getting these emails after a recent WHM upgrade:

    Suggestions on the right way to make ClamAV go away, in this situation?

    Thanks!

    - Scott
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,477
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You might also check if the option is still listed in WHM > Service Manager area and uncheck it there. If it isn't listed or checked, these files might still have it:

    /etc/chkserv.d/chkservd.conf
    /var/run/chkservd/clamd
    /etc/chkserv.d/clamd

    You'd want to remove the /var/run/chkservd/clamd and /etc/chkserv.d/clamd files, then edit /etc/chkserv.d/chkservd.conf file to remove clamd in it. After that, restart chkservd:

    Code:
    /scripts/restartsrv_chkservd
    You might then want to ensure clamd binary doesn't show on the system:

    Code:
    whereis clamd
    If you see any binary file or others, you would want to remove or move them to root. You would then want to re-run "/scripts/checkperlmodules --full --force" to see if that error ceases to occur.

    If the above does not work, please let us know the ticket number so we can see the resolution to the issue to post here.
     
  6. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks guys!

    Before I saw Tristan's message, I decided to "install" it via plug-ins, then "uninstall" it via plug-ins, to see if that got everything in sync. I'll know tonight whether that strategy worked or not... and if not, I'll go through Tristan's steps to get 'er done.

    Thanks again, and have a great weekend!

    - Scott
     
Loading...

Share This Page