Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How To Remove Synced Zones Off a Server Not Actually Hosting The Accounts

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by jwogrady, Nov 7, 2017.

Tags:
  1. jwogrady

    jwogrady Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    On web2 I synchronized all zones to all servers, but left the synchronize zones that are not configured on this server box unchecked. Now all web1 zones are on web2 server.

    My cluster config

    web1
    |-sync -> ns1 (in standalone)
    |-sync -> ns2 (in standalone)
    |-sync -> ns3 (in standalone)
    web2
    |-sync -> ns1 (in standalone)
    |-sync -> ns2 (in standalone)
    |-sync -> ns3 (in standalone)


    What's the benefit (if any) from having Web1 zones on Web2?

    Is there a feature to remove zones for accounts not actually hosted on the server?

    Web2 is currently empty. How do I purge all the web1 zones on that server without deleting them from web1 or the ns1, ns2, or ns3.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,720
    Likes Received:
    1,883
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Using "Synchronize" instead of "Write-Only" as the DNS role will prevent the creation of a DNS zone on a hosting server if it already exists on another server in the cluster.

    No, you'd need to manually remove the zones from the /var/named directory, or by using "WHM >> Delete a DNS Zone" after ensuring clustering is disabled.

    You'd need to disable clustering and then delete the zones (either manually from the /var/named/ directory, or by using "WHM >> Delete a DNS Zone").

    I highly recommend backing up the /var/named/ directory on each server before deleting any zones in-case something goes wrong.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jwogrady

    jwogrady Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    After I disable the cluster and delete the records, will renabling the cluster delete the records off the other server?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,720
    Likes Received:
    1,883
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, the zones will remain on the additional servers as long as you disable clustering before removing them.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice