The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to restore account an account manually without cpbackup?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by bartdc, Feb 11, 2007.

  1. bartdc

    bartdc Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I had to do a server restore because of a hack. I could restore all accounts from cpbackups, except for 2. I still have the old (hacked) drive and the 2 accounts are still on it. How can I restore them without loosing data? I want to copy mail, parked/add-on domains, mysql db and of course web content. Is there a good procedure for this without using the cpmove/backup utilities?

    Thanks,
    Bart
     
    #1 bartdc, Feb 11, 2007
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2007
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Are these two accounts infected? If not, I don't see any problem of using the WHM to resotre them.
     
  3. brendanrtg

    brendanrtg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If the 2 accounts are not infected, you can use root login to:

    1. /scripts/pkgacct USERNAME
    2. move the USERNAME.tar.gz over to the new server and then
    3. /scripts/restorepkg USERNAME
     
  4. bartdc

    bartdc Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That's how I did it eventually. I had to go back to the DC for this. I hoped I could have restored the accounts without booting the infected disk.

    Thanks,
    Bart
     
  5. nicklas

    nicklas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    When I use this way of moving accounts instead of cpbackup I am losing the bandwidth usage of previous months, any idea why?

    how to get the accounts bandwidth usage of previous months transferred?

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page