The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Restore full backup of old domain to new domain ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Aeve, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. Aeve

    Aeve Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Sir
    I have website with more stuff ,now i Buy another domain and i want to shift all data to new one
    For Example
    My old domain is old.com and other new is new.com
    I want to make clone of old.com to new.com
    I want to use my new domain with all same data which is on the old domain name & want to shift all the data to new domain.
    Now ,I have also make a full backup of my old domain. Now when i restore it by previous username, it is on same domain
    How Should I restore the full backup of old domain to new domain
    I want to use my new domain instead of old
    I want that all my stuff will transfer from old domain to new domain without any changing
    My site is on vbulletin forum & I want it on the new domain
    I have a backup of my old domain i.e old.com and I also uploaded in the /home directory
    But I want to restore the backup on a new domain.
    Please also use my cpanel/whm to solve my issue & restore the backup to new domain
    My main motive is to change domain name.

    I have also submit a ticket related to this issue.Please help

    Thanks
    Regards
     
    #1 Aeve, Mar 20, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2013
  2. Will.0

    Will.0 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Aeve-

    Have you tried the following:

    1.) Log in to your old cPanel account. Select Backup Wizard, " Backup ". Select Full backup.

    2.) Click "Download" when the backup completes. The backing-up and the download could take up to 45 minutes but depends on the account size.

    3.) Log into your new cPanel. Click "Backup Wizard," "Restore," "Home Directory."

    4.) Click "Browse" to find the backup file you saved from the old server. Click "Restore." You may have to enter your new cPanel password.

    I'm wouldn't think the /scripts/pkgacct would work for this as the usernames would be different but maybe someone that has tested this would know more.

    Also, if using any type of CMS, you may need to edit the config file adding the new domain information.
     
    #2 Will.0, Mar 20, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2013
  3. theG

    theG Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I think the better option is to copy the public_html to the new site rather than using the automated scripts. If it is some wordpress site, change the url in the database also.

    G
     
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why don't you just change the domain of the account?
     
Loading...

Share This Page