The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to restore Full Backup when it's already on server

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by dennismv, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. dennismv

    dennismv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a file that is already located on the remove server in the user directory
    /home/$user/backup-1.6.2009_15-54-44_$user.tar.gz

    I've noticed that the only way I can find to restore such backup is from CPanel's interface by
    * going to Backups -> Generate/Download a Full Backup -> download backup file
    * and then go to Backups -> Restore a Home Directory Backup -> browse for file and click Upload.

    So for this I will need to download a 3Gb file and then upload it back to the server. This is not good.

    Is there a way to skip all this and initiate Full Backup Restore when the file is already in the home directory of the user ?
     
  2. dennismv

    dennismv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    oh never mind, I got it.

    You have to go through WHM and choose

    Main >> Backup >> Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file

    And ensure your file is in /home and not in /home/$user

    thanks
     
  3. jamina1

    jamina1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there an easy way to automate this process?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    /scripts/restorepkg from the command line will restore full account backups. You could build a shell script to automate this script call.
     
  5. uriel

    uriel Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    Full Backup Restore from WHM

    I dont see this in WHM ?

    I only have :
    Main

    *


    Server Configuration
    *

    Support
    *

    Locales
    *

    Cluster/Remote Access
    *

    Server Status
    *

    Account Information
    *

    Account Functions
    *

    Multi Account Functions
    *

    Themes
    *

    Packages
    *

    DNS Functions
    *

    Email
    *

    cPanel
    *

    SSL/TLS
    *

    Plugins
     
    #5 uriel, Mar 21, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2010
  6. rizwanmax

    rizwanmax Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Full Backup Restore from WHM

    It seems that you are not having root access to the server and are having only Reseller account access to the server due to which you are not getting "Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file" Option in WHM. I'll suggest you to directly upload the Backup file under your account and ask your host to restore it .

    Regards,
    Rizwan S.
     
  7. bitnethost

    bitnethost Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What to do if i have a back up on /home/username/backup-1.16.2011_08-44-13_username.tar.gz

    How can i restore this back up ?
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First, move it from /home/username/ to /home/ then you can use the Restore an Account feature in WHM to restore the backup. WHM and root-level access via SSH will be needed (in most cases) to do this.
     
  9. afshin-virus

    afshin-virus Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi dear users
    i have some problem.
    when i execute this command (/scripts/restorepkg backup.tar.gz) i recive this massage:
    Using backup archive
    cPanel restorepkg 2
    Force Mode: no
    Reseller Privs Restore: yes

    but nothins be happen. this like restoring is stopped. what can i do now? where is the problem?
     
  10. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you run that command, you would only use the username not the name of the file:

    Code:
    /scripts/restorepkg username
     
  11. afshin-virus

    afshin-virus Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i do this again by user name but i recive this message again:

    cPanel restorepkg 2
    Force Mode: no
    Reseller Privs Restore: yes
     
  12. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How as the backup made as backup.tar.gz is not how cPanel names any of the backup files it creates.
     
  13. afshin-virus

    afshin-virus Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no i renamed it in this topic. i enter correct user name in command
    ehat is this mean?
    cPanel restorepkg 2
    Force Mode: no
    Reseller Privs Restore: yes
     
  14. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    All restores show this at the beginning. It means you didn't run a forced restore and it has reseller privileges available to restore. This is not an error message. You are receiving no actual error message after running the command?
     
  15. afshin-virus

    afshin-virus Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i recive only this message and after this message i did not show anything. and restoring not happen
     
  16. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Then please submit a ticket to WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature.
     
Loading...

Share This Page