The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to restore incremental backup?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hbhb, Mar 21, 2007.

1. hbhb

hbhb Well-Known Member

I have difficult situation here.

My HDD1 was crashed, so I reload fresh OS on HDD2 without cpanel. I mount the old HHD1 as my secondary drive and I can see my home and backup on the same drive

/mnt/cpbackup/daily
    /mnt/home

How can I restore my incremental daily backup to another cpanel server remotely?

And also is it possible if I restore /mnt/home/alluser into my HDD2 (with fresh OS & new cpanel)? Please show me the steps. This is my first time

Thanks!

2. jsnape

jsnape Well-Known Member

Ouch. That's not a good scenario. You would need to rsync them over being very careful to retain file ownership. Then restore them.

Off the top of my head I'd say on the old server do this:

rsync -av -e ssh /mnt/cpbackup/daily 192.0.0.0:/mnt/cpbackup/

but do

rsync -av -e ssh /mnt/cpbackup/daily/aUser 192.0.0.0:/mnt/cpbackup/daily/ (insert actual IP of new server)

first and restore that first site to see if it works. Someone else may chime in with a better set of switches or faster method. If the sites are heavily filled with small spam files it might be quicker to archive them first or use rsync -avz .

#2 jsnape, Mar 21, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2007
  3. hbhb

hbhb Well-Known Member

rsync sounds difficult to me as i have never tried it.

how about if i restore it to my HDD2 (which is now my primary), I need cpanel installed first am I right? and after that, what should I do in WHM or SSH in order to restore the backup in /mnt/cpbackup/daily/usernames

If I can restore /mnt/home/usernames straight-away, would be even better!

anyone? help? :confused:

4. jsnape

jsnape Well-Known Member