The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to restore my entire site?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by n3xtgen, Feb 21, 2009.

  1. n3xtgen

    n3xtgen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi there. I would like to restore my entire site but have no clue how to. I have a file that ends with .tar.gz and then I extracted it. My entire site backup is in there. I uploaded all files through FTP but dont know about the database. I went to Restore Wizard and uploaded my database then I get a message saying Restoring Database . Am I doing anything wrong?

    Thanks
     
  2. n3xtgen

    n3xtgen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    where can I type this command in?
     
  3. hzJayJ

    hzJayJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Are you trying to restore a cPanel backup.

    If you have root access you could restore the account by placing the backup in the /home directory and run the following command.

    /scripts/restorepkg username.
     
  4. n3xtgen

    n3xtgen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I cant seem to find the Shell Terminal:mad:
     
  5. jasonhk

    jasonhk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Download a program called PuTTY and SSH into the server :) Then run the /scripts/restorepkg username command
     
  6. n3xtgen

    n3xtgen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did and when I log in I get this message:

    shell session is not enabled on my account:(

    Any other way to import database?

    thanks:)
     
  7. hzJayJ

    hzJayJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Are you on a shared server or a dedicated server?
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    No need for a new user to take this route, IMO. Restoring from WHM should work. Check out the backups section for options.
     
  9. n3xtgen

    n3xtgen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    could you please help me step bu step? I am not sure what to do:(

    thanks
     
  10. Zishan

    Zishan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This shows that you are trying to login using cPanel username/password. Do you have root access on the server? If yes then you need to place the backup file .tar.gz in /home and then restore the backup from WHM > Backups > Restore feature. If you don't have root access then upload the backup file into your account and request your host to restore the backup for you. Please note that the existing account will need to be terminated so that it can be restored from the backup.
     
Loading...

Share This Page