The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to run unpkgacct from command line?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shiekron2, Jan 4, 2003.

  1. Shiekron2

    Shiekron2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Since WHM has a timeout in when transfering big files, and doesn't it give it type to either copy huge files, like a mySQL database, which is huge, etc.

    And I was wondering since we are transfering I can package it using the command line pkgacct in my Ensim box.

    But How can I convert now this file in my CPanel box using unpkgacct

    What to run?

    A lilttle help here cpanel people?
     
  2. Shiekron2

    Shiekron2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My file was 300MB.

    How do use it though?
     
  3. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would love a way to unpack a cpanel backup from command line for users. We're getting a lot of timeouts with the bigger sites lately and it's causing a lot of frustration.
     
  4. Shiekron2

    Shiekron2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Calling Dr. Nick :)

    Where are you Dr. Nick?
     
  5. Shiekron2

    Shiekron2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Dr. Nick isn't on the house I guess.
     
  6. kimpossible

    kimpossible Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    pathetic response

    It's over a year and something as simple as this hasn't been responded to by the cPanel team?!!?
     
  7. kimpossible

    kimpossible Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Step 1)

    Read where your avatar is pointing.

    Step 2)

    Comprehend annoyance.
     
  8. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can try this.

    1) SSH to the server from which the user is to be moved.
    2) /scripts/pkgacct username
    3) The tar file will be created in the /home directory as cpmove-username.tar.gz .
    4) SCP this file to other server to the /home directory
    scp cpmove- username.tar.gz root@yourserver.name.org:/home/

    5) Now from the server you just moved the tar to run the script
    /scripts/restorepkg username

    Try that
     
  9. kimpossible

    kimpossible Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the response!

    Unfortunately, that's a bit too obvious. Not one of those "well, it was so obvious that it worked" but one of those "it was so obvious that it doesn't." ;)

    I'll go ahead and dig into the script tonight and have a look at what it's trying to do...

    This question is in half a dozen threads here, and a web search turns up a good 20 more from various web hosting forums. None with answers.

    So I'll dig it out the hard way.

    I haven't seen that anyone had opened a ticket on it, though.
     
  10. kimpossible

    kimpossible Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Oh - I understand your question.. Here's the answer:

    Shiekron2
    Junior Member

    Registered: Apr 2002
    Location:
    Posts: 27
    How to run unpkgacct from command line?
    [clip!]
    01-05-2003 04:20 AM

    The first message in this thread was posted on Jan 5, 2003. Jan 5 2003 to Jan 5 2004 = 1yr + Jan 5 2004 to May 5 2004 = "Over a year"

    Any of those few hundred accounts over a terrabyte? 10TB? 12TB? We just finished moving all of our infrastructure (from 12 DCs to 73 DCs), and we have several clients over 10TB. Half a dozen over 1TB, hundreds in the 300+GB range. (We're a CDN, video is big. ;) )

    The 2GB limit thing isn't likely since A) it's ext3 (ext2 was a 48bit filesystem anyway. Unless you built it wrong, it would handle >2GB files. Do it every day...) and B) cPanel splits large transfers.

    The fact is - it stinks when you have large accounts and lots of them.

    Still need to dig into the script. But I'm juggling BGP routing issues at present on the new infrastructure. . .
     
Loading...

Share This Page