Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED How to separate subdomains into accounts

Discussion in 'Security' started by Laurel A, Jan 5, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Laurel A

    Laurel A Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Due to some recent issues with hacked Wordpress sites compromising any subdomain located on the same account directory, a company I work for would like to separate each of their subdomains into separate accounts.

    Is there some straightforward way to do this with WHM? I would like something like mydomain.com and dev.mydomain.com to be on separate accounts. It looks like in creating a new account, WHM wants a whole new domain, which is not what we're after.

    Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can create an new cPanel account using a subdomain of a domain already hosted on the same server. You'll need to remove the existing subdomain first though if it exists. There is no tool to do this though, you'll have to do it manually, backing up the sub domain directory, email, databases. You might want to take a Full backup of the main account before you move anything as well just to be safe.
     
    Laurel A likes this.
  3. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Subdomain to main domain conversion is something that has to be done manually. Alternatively, to be on a safer side and not wanting to mess it up.
    1) You can create dev1.newdomain.com cPanel account.
    2) Transfer data from dev.newdomain.com subdomain to the new cPanel account.
    3) Terminate the subdomain.
    4) Rename the subdomain to the original one.
     
    Laurel A likes this.
  4. Laurel A

    Laurel A Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks! Everything worked. I would mark this as solved if I knew how. :)
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks for updating the thread. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page