The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to set CHMOD permissions automatically?

Discussion in 'Security' started by Galanthus, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. Galanthus

    Galanthus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi guys,

    I am almost finished setting up my FTP settings. But i have a problem. When i create an account in WHM the directory permissions are set to "542 543"how can i set this to 755? and to files like 644?

    Because some sites wont work with these permissions. So instead of having to change it manually how can i fix this?

    Thanks in advance!

    Currently using: proFTPD
     
  2. iserversupport

    iserversupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can correct the permission automatically for files using the command

    - removed -

    Make sure to tun it inside the folder public_html after ssh into the server

    - - - Updated - - -

    To fix the permission of folders you can use

    - removed -

    Make sure to run it inside /home/username/public_html/
     
    #2 iserversupport, Nov 16, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 16, 2013
  3. Galanthus

    Galanthus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi sir!

    Thank you very much as always you are helpful. I only need to ask you how i can set this to GLOBAL settings? so for each account which s created that will have this permissions 755 and 644?
     
  4. Galanthus

    Galanthus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    F*** i made a mistake i did 644 in ROOT? how can i return this action?
     
  5. iserversupport

    iserversupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It should be global by default. You just have to correct permission for existing wrong files and folders
     
  6. Galanthus

    Galanthus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have CHMOD system files in ROOT directory how can i set back from 644? wat is default?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    You posted the WRONG instructions and have helped this user to make a mess of his system.
     
  8. iserversupport

    iserversupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually i have already mentioned in the post twice to run it inside public_html only
    But he did it from wrong location
     
Loading...

Share This Page