The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to set MySQL database max size

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lightbeing, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. lightbeing

    lightbeing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've set a couple of packages up with some MySQL databases, but can't see how to set the max size of those databases.

    Can anyone point me in the right direction?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,460
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The limit is based on the size of the account.
     
  3. lightbeing

    lightbeing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, so the DB has the same amount of space as the discspace set for the package, or is it part of that discspace?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,460
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is no or there. The disk space for the account is what it is.
    Or am I misunderstandng your question?
     
  5. mambovince

    mambovince Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London, UK
    Sorry to say Infopro, but MySQL databases can go well beyond the account limits for total disk space.

    I had an user account compromised - they stole the password - and the installed phishing files that also logged to a MySQL database, and it grew to over 1GB over less than 3 days before anyone noticed.

    The user account was till below its disk usage limit, but bandwidth went over, hence we were alerted.

    - Vince
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,460
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Since you've just posted to this other thread on the same topic, I'll let cPanel assist with this.
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f34/when-will-disk-usage-include-mysql-129409.html

    From the release notes for 11.25 it states this:


    This is what I was referring to in my earlier post, not personal experience. Sorry for the confusion.
     
  7. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It would be madness to limit db space - you would end up with defective data.

    True mysql is now counted in the quota - unfortunately disk space usage does not specify that the missing diskspace is databases. Clients simply have to guess where the additional space they are using is. I expect lots of clients support tickets for this cpanel mistake.
     
  8. mambovince

    mambovince Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London, UK
    @Michael,
    Same issue exists with disk space used by MailMan, as you probably know, and I do get emails from customers asking why this info isn't displayed by cPanel.

    - Vince
     
Loading...

Share This Page