The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to set up my own nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by 50c, Jun 26, 2004.

  1. 50c

    50c Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    i am a WHM/Cpanel newbie, i ordered a server at managed.com a week ago.
    I have installed Cpanel and Whm and it seems to work fine.

    The problem is that i want to create my own nameservers, so the people can put them into their registrars...

    I have registered a domain that i want to use for these NS.
    Let's say mydomain.com and i want to create
    ns1.mydomain.com
    ns2.mydomain.com
    and i don't know how to do that..

    I have actually 10 ips:
    one of them is the main server ip xx.xx.xx.200
    + the others till 209.
    How can i set up the ns lets say on 201 and 202?
    I can access my server only through xx.xx.xx.200 if i try to access it through the other ips it does not work. Is it ok?

    I haven't set up WHM till yet, i know that i have to put the ns1.mydomain.com into the fields primary nameserver ....

    The next thing is how should i set up the domain at the registrar. Do i have to use the the registrars nameservice and add only the ip to the new prefixes ns1 and ns2 or do i have to cancel the registrars nameservice and put there ns1.mydomain.com + the server ips?

    Do i have to activate the nameserver service in
    Main >> Service Configuration >> Nameserver Setup also?

    Thanks

    50c
     
    #1 50c, Jun 26, 2004
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2004
  2. sigep739

    sigep739 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The first thing to do is setup the primary and secondary nameservers in 'Edit Setup'... after you put in ns1.yourdomain.com for your primary and ns2.yourdomain.com for your secondary, click Assign IP address for each option and then Add an A Entry for this nameserver...

    Then click on Managed Nameserver IP's... make sure they are there. If not, simply add them.

    Then, you can go to your registrar and all will be fine :)
     
  3. 50c

    50c Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    hi, i have set my hostname to srv1.mydomain.com, i assigned to it the main server ip to it xx.xx.xx.200, then

    I have set the primary ns to ns1.mydomain.com and the secondary to ns2.mydomain.com, it assigned the xx.xx.xx.201 and xx.xx.xx.202 ips to the names.
    I have created the A records too.

    It seems to work but each time i log in at whm it says: {

    Hostname A Entry Missing!

    The server was unable to lookup an an A entry for its hostname (srv1.mydomain.com). This is generally because the entry was never added. However this could also be the result of your nameserver(s) being down. If you would like to attempt to automaticlly add the entry,
    }

    I checked the A record and it was created....

    Can you tell me where is the error?

    Do i have to set up now the registrars data?

    THX
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Have you registered the name servers ns1.mydomain.com and ms2.mydomain.com as name servers with the domain registrar where you have mydomain.com registered? You do have to do that, otherwise they will not be recognised as name servers.
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Once you register the nameservers at the registrar, it takes about 24 hours for them to be recognized.
     
  6. 50c

    50c Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I have just created the records in the registrars program.
    i have created:
    ns1.mydomain.com pointing to xx.xx.xx.201
    and
    ns2.mydomain.com pointing to xx.xx.xx.202

    I have actually assigned the same ips to the ns-s as i have done it in whm..

    I think it will need a little time to propagate..

    But what do i have to do with the hostname srv1.mydomain.com? Thats why i get the popup error..
    It tells that it could not resolve the A record, but the record is created..

    Do i have to change it too at the registrar, pointing to the main ip? xx.xx.xx.200 ?

    THX
     
  7. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    dont forget to add your IP's to the system in WHM
     
  8. 50c

    50c Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    i have added the ips with
    IP Functions >> Add a New IP Address

    but i'm confused if i look at >>Show IP Address Usage
    the tab says that none of the ips is used..

    no http,ftp,mail usage there

    is it ok?
     
  9. sigep739

    sigep739 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    if you dont have any domains set up, then it wont work...

    If you want to PM me with your info, i will take a l;ook at it.

    Just an offer.
     
  10. 50c

    50c Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hi guys! You are great!
    The nameservers resolve fine.. looks that it works.
    Gonna set up some domains... and then i'll tell you..

    THANKS to all buddies :)

    50c
     
Loading...

Share This Page