The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to setup a nameserver

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by sober, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. sober

    sober Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I am totally a newbie and just purchased a dedi server.

    the server Ip is 209.172.XX, I would like to create new account using CP
    but it says the nameserver should be setup first.

    Could anybody kindly tell me how to set it up,
    or, is it from the server provider?

    I am on msn: xobuy#msn.com
    ICQ: 770035

    Thank you in advance :)
     
  2. laborspy

    laborspy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Under your WHM look for "Service Configuration", then goto "Nameserver Setup". It will walk you through the inital setup of that.

    -jason
     
  3. sober

    sober Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Jason, but what should I put in it?
    what is the nameserver? my server IP or othernameservers, enom or sth like that?

    Thank you
     
  4. laborspy

    laborspy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    when you 'ok' button there it should not ask for a nameserver, just setup the one on server......

    you might be talking about the option under "Edit Setup" and "Master DNS". I normally let that blank, as it is not needed normally unless you are clustering. Just remove it and after you save the option will no longer be there as you will not need it.

    -jason
     
  5. sober

    sober Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    could someone help me hand by hand via IcQ or MSN?
    :confused:

    i can see where I should see to, but don't know what to put in there :(
     
  6. laborspy

    laborspy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    coming...

    -jason
     
    #6 laborspy, Jun 8, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2005
  7. sober

    sober Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, Jason

    Added already :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page