The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to setup subdomain accounts best practice?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WestBend, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. WestBend

    WestBend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have read several posts on this.

    I am curious about a couple of best practices.

    If i want to create subdomains for my own domain name should i create subdomains through cpanel which then makes all the directories sub to public_html and adds them into the main DNS zone or should i create them in WHM as standalone accounts. As i understand it i cant control bandwidth usage per account IF i add them as subdomains through cPanel.

    If i create them as standalone accounts in WHM which gives me bandwidth control but will add a DNS zone subdomain.domain.com to the Zones list should i then delete this zone and manually add it into the DNS zone for domain.com? Do i gain or loose anything by having all these subdomains.domain.com DNS zones as seperate zones?

    Any experienced insight into this would be wonderful.

    Thanks
     
  2. reddrake

    reddrake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin,Usa
    Hello making them as standalone in whm is fine. Leave the DNS entry so it is expandible and editible for sub sub domains and such.

    :)
     
  3. WestBend

    WestBend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks for the input reddrake. If i am NOT going to allow the subdomains to sub another to their address is there any reason to leave them then?

    I wish WHM would have a larger window to view the dns zones in.. its so small lol
     
  4. reddrake

    reddrake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin,Usa
    heh just open in new window.

    Deleting the DNS zone and putting it on the actual domain may reduce functionality of the account.
     
  5. WestBend

    WestBend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I mean the actual list of zones on the box, not the actual dns zone editor itself
     
  6. ttremain

    ttremain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I prefer keeping them seperate, however if you ever plan
    to move the domain from one server to another, the
    transfer utility combines them all. (or used to)
     
Loading...

Share This Page