The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to spamd child process?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Skin, Jan 27, 2007.

  1. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi,
    I'm trying to configure spamassasin because it is using a lot of memory for my limited resources.

    I'd like to reduce child proces from 5 to 3, but I'm not able to find the config file: can you give me some suggestions and some links to a documentation? And also the path to spamd config file?

    Thanks very much.
     
    #1 Skin, Jan 27, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2007
  2. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    you could use the add-module cPanel >> Addon Modules >> spamdconf to do this via the WHM or you would need to manual edit the /etc/init.d/exim file and I believe the /scripts/RestartSrv.pm file as these are where these setting are controlled.

    Mickalo
     
  3. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    I installed spamdconf and reduced child proces from 5 to 3 directly from WHM, thanks very much for your reply.

    Alessio.
     
  4. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    did it seem to help reducing the child process ??

    Mickalo
     
  5. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    I'm looking active process, and now I see somwthing like this:

    25626 (spamd) /usr/bin/perl /
    /usr/bin/spamd -d --allowed-ips=127.0.0.1 --pidfile=/var/run/spamd.pid -
    -max-children=3

    before was max-children=5.

    Now the situation looks better, before I was not able to do a CPanel update and every time I was receiving a Out of memory message, now I'm able to do updates.
     
  6. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    glad it helped ;)

    Mickalo
     
  7. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    mmm I had to reduce from 3 to 1 :) I have only 256 mega of ram, and spam assasin was using about 75 mega of ram.

    Now it is ok, but I think I'll buy more ram :).

    Thanks you helped very much.
     
  8. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    wow! If your running Cpanel/WHM I wouldn't run less then 1GB of ram! We are looking at upgrading to 2GB memory here shortly, as IGB sometimes can not be enough. But alot depends on what all you have running on the server.

    Mickalo
     
  9. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    It is a VPS, and I'm using it only for testing some softwares and for making practice, when I'll be able to manage a server I'll buy one with a lot of ram ;-), this is sure LoL .
     
  10. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    just a word to the wise tho, when you decide to purchase your server .... DO NOT buy it from the EV1/The Planet ....since their recent merger, their support is terrible and their server prices have gone way out of sight.

    We've been with EV1 for about 4+yrs now and are planning on looking at another server somewhere else in the very near future.

    Mickalo
     
Loading...

Share This Page