The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to stop apache?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by alexz, Sep 10, 2005.

  1. alexz

    alexz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I need to stop apache, I've disabled httpd service in whm, but httpd only stops for a couple of minutes and then it somehow starts again :(
    Is there anyway to stop apache from runing for 1 day (only apache, I need everything elese)?
     
  2. neutro

    neutro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i think you need to stop chkservd first

    service chkservd stop
    and later
    service httpd stop
     
  3. alexz

    alexz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes, it did help!
    Thank you very much!
    Alex
     
  4. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    chkservd is used for both restarting failed services and is responsible for updating the service status in WHM and cPanel (or so I believe). Therefore it would be best to keep chkservd running and just tell it not to monitor and restart Apache.

    Code:
    rm -Rf /var/run/chkservd/apache
    To get chkservd to monitor Apache again, just re-add /var/run/chkservd/apache - this file should contain a + and be owned by root:root and have permissions of 0644. Copying one of the other files in /var/run/chkservd/ might be easier than manually recreating /var/run/chkservd/apache

    Code:
    cp /var/run/chkservd/bind /var/run/chkservd/apache
     
  5. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Interestingly, the changelog now lists something that may be of use:

    As soon as this slips down to whichever release you might be on, this would probably do the trick nicely from within WHM.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's in EDGE now too. Seems to work nicely, though I wish they'd add a monitor from crond ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page