How to stop reseller from changing maximum email relay sending limits?

electric

Well-Known Member
Nov 5, 2001
786
10
318
Hello,

Is it possible to stop a reseller from being able to modify the "Maximum Hourly Email by Domain Relayed" and "Maximum percentage of failed or deferred messages a domain may send per hour" setting in the "WHM-->Accounts Functions-->Modify an Account" screen?

Otherwise, the reseller can modify these values to "unlimited" and they can easily send thousands of emails from the server. (We don't want our resellers to be able to run mailing lists without first getting approval from us.)

Thanks!
 

electric

Well-Known Member
Nov 5, 2001
786
10
318
Yes, you can remove the reseller's access to the modify account interface by going to WHM >> Resellers >> Edit Reseller Nameservers and Privileges
I'd still like for them to be able to access the Modify Account screen. I just don't want them to be able to modify those two email limits.

So basically... I would like it to be exactly the same as the "Edit Package" and "Add Package" screens, where those two values are not able to be modified.

My thinking is that you already have these two values being limited in the Edit/Add Package screens.. so why not also in the Modify Account screen?
 

cPanelLauren

Product Owner
Staff member
Nov 14, 2017
13,296
1,269
313
Houston
Modify an account will modify the package values is why it's available in both locations. Only in this instance if you modify one of these values you can make a new package specifically for that account with those values, or you can choose to leave the account on the package with the modified values. This is useful for testing as it's less cumbersome than pulling an account off of a package entirely.

The Max Emails and Max Deferrals per hour settings are both governed by what is set in WHM>>Server Configuration>>Tweak Settings
 

Duplika

Well-Known Member
Feb 26, 2005
72
7
158
Buenos Aires, Argentina
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Twitter
Indeed, this is something uncomfortable.

To prevent resellers from changing limit to unlimited, we need to disable them the permissions of "Modify an account" as well as "Edit packages", because at both screens, they are able to change their limits back to unlimited.

Is there any feature request to address this?