Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How to tell if clamav have detected some malware?

Discussion in 'Security' started by Kent Brockman, Jul 28, 2015.

  1. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello guys. After one year of functions, I want to evaluate if ClamAV have found any threats in our servers/mails. Is there any logs being saved? Are quarantined files saved to any folder? Do you have any docs on this?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. ModServ

    ModServ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you schedule ClamAV to work on specific times, perform scans manually or do you use CallUploadScript?

    In all situations you can use the command like this:
    Code:
    clamdscan --quiet --log=/var/log/threats.log
    Check those also:
    Code:
    clamdscan --help
    clamscan --help
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Keep in mind that ClamAV only scans your email by default. You can see recent activity with a command such as:

    Code:
    zgrep -Hn "This message contains a virus or other harmful content" /var/log/exim_rejectlog*
    It won't scan your system files automatically, unless you setup a cron job to do so.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thank you guys!

    In regards of activating scheduled scans via cronjobs, can you point me to some docs about it?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice