How to transfer account's NS records?

jndawson

Well-Known Member
Aug 27, 2014
277
29
28
Western US
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
The transfer tool is designed (for some reason) to replace NS and SOA records with the name servers listed on the receiving WHM server rather than the authoritative name servers listed at the registry and in the zone. This requires editing zone records after a transfer.

How do we transfer an account and keep the correct NS and SOA records?

Also, what is the reasoning behind the present logic to replace NS and SOA records with incorrect NS and SOA records?
 

cPanelLauren

Technical Support Community Manager
Staff member
Nov 14, 2017
12,377
1,129
313
Houston

cPanelLauren

Technical Support Community Manager
Staff member
Nov 14, 2017
12,377
1,129
313
Houston
I see what you mean here:
Screenshot at Jul 29 19-43-30.png


This was a basic restore. The conversion takes place during the account creation
Screenshot at Jul 29 19-46-49.png

I am looking at this potentially being the culprit:


Always use authoritative (registered) nameservers when creating a new DNS zone.
When adding a new domain, if the domain is already registered, ignore the configured nameservers, and set the NS line to the authoritative (registered) ones.
By default this is disabled.

But also I believe that this behavior is by design because unless you're using the restricted restore function then you wouldn't always want the domain to resolve to the new server right away. Changing the NS records until you're ready to change them provides the means to ensure the site functions before it goes live.
 
Last edited: