Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How to Transfer all websites to new IP

Discussion in 'Security' started by ravi9, Nov 22, 2013.

  1. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello,
    I have a VPS with two IP.
    Let's say these IPs are
    -------------------------
    1.1.1.1 -> server main IP + ns1.domain.com
    2.2.2.2 -> ns2.domain.com
    ------------------------

    I got a new IP to my VPS which is DDoS protected. Let's say the new IP is
    ---------------------------
    3.3.3.3 -> New DDoS protected IP
    ---------------------------

    So, now I want to shift to 3.3.3.3 (DDoS Protected IP). How can I do this to protect my VPS from DDoS attacks.

    And I also want to continue using old nameserver IP. I do not want to change nameserver IPs.
    ------------------------
    1.1.1.1 -> ns1.domain.com
    2.2.2.2 -> ns2.domain.com
    -----------------------

    How can I get this done with no/minimum downtime. I have around 160 websites on this server.

    Regards
    Ravi
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can use the IP Migration Wizard to update the IP addresses of all accounts from one IP address to another:

    "WHM Home >> IP Function >> IP Migration Wizard"

    It's documented at:

    cPanel - IP Migration Wizard

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    will it cause any downtime. I will not be changing nameserver and nameserver IP.

    Regards:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Can I use this method:
    WHM Home >> Multi Account Functions >> Change Multiple Sites’ IP Addresses
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, this is also an option you can use if you prefer. It will change the account IP addresses in the same method the IP Migration Wizard uses. Note that while there is no service downtime, IP changes can result in some propagation that must occur.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you for clarifying this :)


    I have one more doubt.
    Will changing IP of all websites to 3.3.3.3 (ddos protected IP) enable DDoS protection to my complete VPS.
    As this will not change server main IP. And server will continue using 1.1.1.1 as main IP.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It depends on the specific DDOS protection you have in place. This may be better asked to your VPS hosting provider or the company that is providing the DDOS protection.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Sorry, if I wasn't clear in last post.

    Suppose, I have moved all websites from 1.1.1.1 -> 3.3.3.3
    But server's main IP is still 1.1.1.1


    I want to know, if attackers attacks server main IP 1.1.1.1 using some DDoS software.
    will it affect server load. Or will there will be very minute load since none website will be hosted on server main IP.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It depends on the exact type of DDOS attack that's implemented by the attacker. It's likely that your server will experience the same load issues if the IP address still exists and is active on the server.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice