The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to upgrade from Edge to Release

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alecx, Aug 8, 2003.

  1. alecx

    alecx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I need to upgrade EDGE CPanel to Release.
    Does anybody know how to do it without any issues.

    Thanks a lot.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Let me start by saying I only run STABLE, so I've never done this. However, the process should simply be to choose RELEASE Updates under Server Setup -> Change update Preferences in WHM. Then preform the update.

    I haven't read of any problems with this is the forums. Actually, it should work better because you are going to a more stable release.

    Maybe I've just stated the obvious again, but's that my 2 cents.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That is how to do that.

    By changing your preferences to release, the next update will go to the last release version. If you want it updated sooner, just telnet in with an ssh program and issue the command
    /scripts/upcp
    and a few minutes later you'll be on release.
     
  4. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Or if you're lazy like me you could just click "Upgrade to Latest Version" under the cPanel section of WHM. :p

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That works too. :D

    I'm just getting so used to using SSH now. It's more fun. :cool:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. alecx

    alecx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've changed to Release in WHM.
    and made
    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/upcp

    And Cpanel updated to realease.

    Thanks! :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That's downgrade from Edge to release
    Your version numbers will be going down, not up
    edit /etc/cpupdate.conf
    replace
    CPANEL=edge
    with
    CPANEL=release

    /scripts/upcp
    in ssh
    for the command-line curious

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page