The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to use this feature ?? Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ameroo, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. ameroo

    ameroo Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can Anyone help me how to use this feature ??
    I compressed a web site using Backup>>Full Backups Generate/Download a Full Backup>>Remote FTP Server ..

    and i created an account in my server and i got the file transferred to my server under /home/user/xxx.tar.gz

    i Copied the file to /home >>>>>>>> /home/xxx.tar.gz as the information says ... when i clicked in my WHM on Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file i got the file name under "Possible cpmove archives found: "

    and i put the username after "Enter the username for the account you wish to restore:" for the folder i wanted to restore the account to .. but the resule was the i got the file /home/xxx.tar.gz deleted and nothing in the folder ???

    So please anyone can explain to me how to use this feature???
     
  2. Etheral

    Etheral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hrmm well first off have you tryed the "transfer" account feature? that can help greatly... otherwize im going to try and recreate what you did.. lol thought id post something to let you know someone is paying attenchen... lol
     
  3. ameroo

    ameroo Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    dear all,

    I copied the account using this feature "Copy an account from another server with account password"
    after that i got file like this "cpmove-dlo3hc.tar.gz" under the /home
    and when i tried to use " Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file "

    I got the below message ...

    Searching /home....
    Found cpmove-dlo3hc.tar.gz !
    Moving Packge to /home/cprestore/cpmove-dlo3hc.tar.gz
    Extracting tarball....Done
    Extracting Domain....Done
    Sorry, the copy failed. Unable to find the cpanel user file

    Please help me to solve this problem
    ...

    Regards,
     
  4. CooLMaN

    CooLMaN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    Same problem here! please advise.

    Running latest stable version (9.9.9).


    Best regards,
    Gil.
     
  5. kran

    kran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colombia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Any News ??

    I,m running Edge cPanel 9.9.9-E36 and have the same problem
     
  6. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    Can someone please put in a ticket with the issue and I will look into it, that issue should have been fixed a few days back.
     
  7. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hi guys,

    I faced the same problem one month before. Copy the username.tar.gz file in to /home or /tmp directory and extract it. And check the name of new directory. if it is not same as the user name, rename the tar.gz file to directoryname.tar.gz and move it to the home dir.
    then run
    /scripts/restorepkg directoryname

    Hope it will solve u r problem. If it will not solve your problem, create a the domain with same user name (directoryname) in whm and then run the scripts.

    /scripts/restorepkg directoryname

    Any way it solved my problem.

    [But i know, This is not an exact method because one domain is OK but to create more then 100........]
     
  8. GeodeTech

    GeodeTech Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks bijo, this worked for me :D
     
  9. TogaDave

    TogaDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just got done doing a copy account from server to server in WHM tonight that took over 3 hours to copy, only to find that at the very end of the processing I got a "could not restore" error. I saw that the cpmove-xxxx.tar.gz file was in the /home directory though, so I tried using the Main >> Backup >> Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file link in WHM and even though it saw the file there in /home too, no matter if I tried without the user account created or with it already created, I would get nothing but a blank page when I entered the username and hit submit. My heart sank and frustration set in.

    So as always I came here and started doing searches, and I gotta say - BIJO I OWE YOU A BEER! A LOTTA BEERS! This post from 2004 saved me tonight, THANKS!! It took a while to process, but worked like a charm.
     
  10. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello Dave,

    Thank you for your update :)

    I am also ready to have that BEER :p
     
  11. tangowebs

    tangowebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But how do I access there if I dont have fisical access to the server?
     
  12. goodgbb

    goodgbb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Thailand
    This problem also happens to me.

    - It will happens only while I'm download files to save into "Windows XP" then transfer to Linux server.
    - It won't happens while download directly from Linux server to Linux server. It's working good to restore my backup files and I don't see "can't see user files" anymore.

    Anyone getting same case like me?
     
  13. helmishariff

    helmishariff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    me too. I have to download it to my pc first(xp) and then upload the file later.
     
Loading...

Share This Page