Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How yahoo.com resolves?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by LinuxTechie, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Friends,

    I knows that this is not the right place to ask this question. But I am sure, someone here will be having right answer for my question.

    My question is :

    How yahoo.com resolves? When I takes yahoo.com it redirects to in.yahoo.com. I am not sure how it recognizes the Indian IP and redirects it to in.yahoo.com . Looking forward for your answers.

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is the reason you are asking about this happening? If you do not want to be redirected to in.yahoo.com by Yahoo, you could always use a proxy that has an IP in another country to go to a different location.

    If that isn't the concern, then please let us know what you are wanting our opinion about specifically.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,565
    Likes Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm guessing he wants his own site to change/redirect appropriately when visited, like Yahoo.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Tristan,

    I am bit anxious to know the logic behind this. If someone could explain the scenario behind this, it will be great!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The logic behind determining someone's location and sending that user to the closest machine is to ensure the user has the fastest loading machine for the connection for one reason, since the closest machine would have the least hops for routing. Another reason would be probably to serve content that is more applicable to that user due to the region. For Google and Yahoo (search engines), they would be more likely to return content from that region of the world to the user if they are going to direct the user to a set server or servers for the search results. It makes sense that a user in Asia might be more likely to want Asian language sites or content in all likelihood.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello All,

    May be. Not sure. I just wanted to know the technology.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice