Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hows this possible ? Referrer doesn't exist.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by keat63, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm seeing a few 404 errors in my apache logs, but I've no idea how or why.

    Code:
    
    [Tue Apr 18 20:58:35 2017] [error] [client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] File does not exist: /home/livedomain/public_html/al277.php, referer: www.myold-domian.co.uk 
    The referrer was an old domain of mine, which has been shutdown a while, so no longer exists, so I know that 'myold-domain.co.uk' isn't sending the referral. The account was suspended, no files exist.

    It does however, have a 301 at registrar level pointing it to 'livedomain.co.uk'
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Does an entry for the domain name exist in your Apache configuration file? If so, it's possible for someone to manually setup a DNS entry on their local computer to ensure a domain name resolves to a specific IP address:

    How to Modify your hosts File - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    That might explain how someone accessed your domain name even though it's been terminated.

    Thank you.
     
  3. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't see anything in the hosts file or httpd.conf.
    Could it be possible that they somehow used a url along the lines: www.old-domain.com/xxx.php
    Which (because of the 301) resolves to www.live-domain.com, although i'm unable to recreate this myself.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It'd be the hosts file on their own computer, not the server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page