Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Hows this possible ? Referrer doesn't exist.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by keat63, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm seeing a few 404 errors in my apache logs, but I've no idea how or why.

    Code:
    
    [Tue Apr 18 20:58:35 2017] [error] [client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] File does not exist: /home/livedomain/public_html/al277.php, referer: www.myold-domian.co.uk 
    The referrer was an old domain of mine, which has been shutdown a while, so no longer exists, so I know that 'myold-domain.co.uk' isn't sending the referral. The account was suspended, no files exist.

    It does however, have a 301 at registrar level pointing it to 'livedomain.co.uk'
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Does an entry for the domain name exist in your Apache configuration file? If so, it's possible for someone to manually setup a DNS entry on their local computer to ensure a domain name resolves to a specific IP address:

    How to Modify your hosts File - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    That might explain how someone accessed your domain name even though it's been terminated.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't see anything in the hosts file or httpd.conf.
    Could it be possible that they somehow used a url along the lines: www.old-domain.com/xxx.php
    Which (because of the 301) resolves to www.live-domain.com, although i'm unable to recreate this myself.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It'd be the hosts file on their own computer, not the server.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice