The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

howto access namebased website using IP?

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by abubin, Apr 10, 2006.

  1. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have a namebased website that I already transfered to another webhost. The problem is that, I want to run/execute a php file in the old site to convert my phpbb database. How can I do that since the DNS already resolving to the new site? Since it's IP based, I can't access using IP address or can I?
     
  2. RizyDeWino

    RizyDeWino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Planet Earth
  3. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    yup, tried searching but can't find solution.

    The method you gave doesn't work either. It will work only on the IP where DNS already resolving but not the one where DNS doesn't resolve.
     
  4. RizyDeWino

    RizyDeWino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Planet Earth

    If the IP URL is not working then there is some other issue , accessing directly through IP has nothing to do with DNS propagation or where the domain is pointing , if the account is on server with IP 1.2.3.4 then http://1.2.3.4/~user/ must work.
     
  5. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Not true. If you have mod_userdir enabled under Tweak Security, it prevents you from doing exactly that. To access via that way, just disable mod_userdir and then you can access.
     
  6. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    hmm..I have checked userdir_mod and it is disabled. Could it be due to the reverse DNS not set up correctly?
     
Loading...

Share This Page