The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HOWTO : cPanel Backup using FTP Backup without second HDD

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by isputra, Apr 1, 2004.

  1. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    I try this method about a week and it works perfect.

    Say you have 2 server and only have 1 HDD for each server.

    Step by step :

    1. Create an account on server 2 for store the backup files of server 1
    Example : backup.domain2.com
    2. Login to server 1 - WHM and configure the backup :
    Backup Status : enabled
    Backup Interval: daily
    Days to run backup: check all
    Remount/Unmount backup drive: disabled
    Bail out if the backup drive ...: disabled
    Incremental backup: disabled
    Backup Accounts: enabled
    Backup Config Files: disabled
    Sql Databases: per accounts only
    Backup Raw Access Logs: disabled
    Backup Type: Remote Ftp Server
    Ftp Backup Host: backup.domain2.com
    Ftp Backup User: your_username
    Ftp Backup Pass: your_password
    Backup Destination: /
    Click Save
    3. Repeat step 1 and 2 above for backup your account at server 2 to server 1

    That's it.

    But i have only one problem on above method. The backup account at server 1 will also transfer
    to backup account at server 2 and vice versa.
    How to avoid the backup account transfered to another backup account ?
     
  2. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    my problem is still there ... anyone, please help me
     
  3. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I dont know if the cpanel backup simply walks the /home/ partion or if it acutally goes by the users on the box.

    One thing you can do is create an account outside of WHM. Make sure it has the ablity to FTP and put it outside of the normal /home/ path. maybe /backup/ or something like that.
     
  4. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    How to do that ? I just know how to create an account using WHM. Please give me some clue ;)
     
  5. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    SSH into your server and use the adduser command.
     
  6. jameshsi

    jameshsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can we really do this ? Will this break anything that WHM/cpanel controled ?
     
  7. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Nope, shouldn't break anything :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page