The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HOWTO: mod_layout on cPanel! MERGED Threads

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mike_r, Aug 15, 2004.

  1. mike_r

    mike_r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    HOWTO: mod_layout on cPanel!

    Hello,

    I have successfully installed mod_layout on cpanel with RedHat 9 ( not sure if its gonna work on other os ), and thought i would share the experience because I found many users looking for a quick howto but none existed.

    Login into ssh as root and type the following commands:

    cd /tmp
    wget http://fresh.t-systems-sfr.com/unix/src/www/mod_layout-3.2.tar.gz
    tar -zxvf mod_layout-3.2.tar.gz
    cd mod_layout-3.2
    mv Makefile.STATIC Makefile

    It will ask if you want to overwite, press y and enter

    pico -w Makefile

    Find:
    APXS=apxs

    Change to:
    APXS=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs

    Ctrl + X , y and enter to save the file..

    make
    make install
    service httpd restart

    Now you can start using all the directives in the <virtualhosts>

    Its a software available at : http://tangent.org/ and you can lookup there to find out what it is! .. direct link: http://tangent.org/index.pl?lastnode_id=478&node_id=362

    If you run into troubles, just share them with us..
     
  2. xwing777

    xwing777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    chokes on make:
    Code:
    rm -f liblayout.a
    ar cr liblayout.a
    liblayout.a
    make: liblayout.a: Command not found
    make: *** [liblayout.a] Error 127
     
  3. mike_r

    mike_r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Although, I didn't got those errors, but it might still work .. just go ahead and it will work ..
     
  4. xwing777

    xwing777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no go even after i tried several versions of 3.X through 4.X, it doesnt display header or footers. Its like the modules are not loaded correctly. Checked and they are there though. In httpd the are also listed.
     
  5. mike_r

    mike_r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What operating system you are on and which version of apache ?

    Also can you tell me how are you trying to implement the mod_layout directives in the <virtualhost> ? possibly post up your directive..

    Login into your WHM -> click WHM News -> check to see if mod_layout is listed there.

    And try running "make install" command once again and restart httpd.
     
    #5 mike_r, Aug 28, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2004
  6. xwing777

    xwing777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Actually help from another person has already fixed it. Using
    Code:
    ln -s /usr/local/apache/bin/apxs /usr/local/bin/apxs
    then installing http://fresh.t-systems-sfr.com/unix/src/www/mod_layout-3.2.tar.gz
    normally.

    The only question now is how to make it automatically be in the <VirtualHost> sections of httpd.config for any sub-domains i add later?

    Or basically the entire server wide regardless of using IP,domain,sub-domain current or if added later?
     
  7. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Makefile.STATIC is for statically compiling into apache. The Makefile (and not Makefile.STATIC) would have to be edited to have path to apxs dfined everywhere. for example, if it's /usr/local/apache/bin, then the top portion of makefile wouild look like this:

    APXS=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs
    APACHECTL=/usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl
    CC=`/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs -q CC`
    INC=-I`/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs -q INCLUDEDIR` `$(APXS) -q CFLAGS` #-DLAYOUT_FILEOWNER_NAME
    LD_SHLIB=`apxs -q LDFLAGS_SHLIB`
    VERSION = 3.2
    DISTNAME = mod_layout
    DISTVNAME = $(DISTNAME)-$(VERSION)

    Then just type
    make
    make install

    For directives refer the FAQ section...
    Anup
     
    #7 anup123, Aug 28, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2004
  8. Galfon

    Galfon Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I need to install mod_layout on my apache

    WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.0.0-R7
    RedHat Enterprise 3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    I would request to talk to someone via AIM or MSN.

    Thank you

    AIM: pyropixelcom
    MSN: galfon@gmail.com

    Thank you :)
     
  9. wmowat

    wmowat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Bay, ON, Canada
    How to use mod_layout...

    Hello,

    I have sucessfully installed mod_layout on my machine, but I'm not sure what files I need to edit, or add, to use the script. I checked my cpanel news, and it show that mod_layout was installed but I can't find instructions on what to do next. I see I need to edit httpd.conf but I'm not sure how to do this or where to put the html/php file I want to include on all pages on the server. If someone could give me basic steps on how to set this up it would be greatly appreciated.
     
  10. wmowat

    wmowat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Bay, ON, Canada
    I appreciate you putting all of these instructions on how to install this script, but as I stated previously I have installed the script sucessfully. I am not sure how to actually use it though, where do I put my html files and how do I put them there and where and what and how do I I tell mod_layout which file to include?
     
  11. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
  12. wmowat

    wmowat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Bay, ON, Canada
    Where is <virtualhost> located and how do I edit it, and how do I place the html file in the directory specified in the above post?
     
  13. asmar

    asmar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    frames + mod_layout + Google ads

    Hi guys,

    Does anyone knows if mod_layout make use of frames to display ads and if not, if it is possible to achieve something like that.

    I need to display Google Ads and my big concern is the above, and how can I use Google meta keys.
    For example, let's say that the site is related with Fishing. If I use the mod_layout to display google ads, are these going to be related with Fishing or what?

    does the mod_layout gets the meta-keys from each page?

    Thanks
     
    #13 asmar, Feb 28, 2005
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2005
  14. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Documentaion of mod_layout says it doesn't quite support framed based pages ... just coz the author of mod_layout hates frames (at least from the docs of the version that im running). it would include in every frame. Other than this, it does work pretty well.

    Thanks
    Anup
     
  15. tomsyer

    tomsyer Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    has Anyone had mod_layout stop the functionaliy of some php scripts?
     

Share This Page