Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

.htacces and index.html??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by swabij, May 7, 2013.

  1. swabij

    swabij Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello!!

    i have a homepage
    i have made a .htacces and a index.html file but when i go into my .htacces and write DirectoryIndex index.html it dosnt work!!

    What can i do??
    Please Help Me!!

    Regards,

    Jonas Baekbo
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What is it that you're wanting to do, exactly?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. swabij

    swabij Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    to make index.html default page!
     
  4. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,835
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    index.html is loaded as the default page on a default cPanel installation. However, your host may have made custom changes. Have you tried talking to your host about this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. swabij

    swabij Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    yes!

    What can i do??
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The setting for your Hosting Provider is located here:
    WHM » Service Configuration » Apache Configuration » DirectoryIndex Priority

    If you have no access to WHM, you have no accesss to that setting.

    Whats your .htaccess look like?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. swabij

    swabij Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    What is WHM?

    - - - Updated - - -

    my htaccess is:
    DirectoryIndex index_good.html

    and thats that!
     
  8. Veeble-Adam

    Veeble-Adam Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. swabij

    swabij Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    shall my index.html and .htaccess be in /cgi-bin/ folder??
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    This is mine, and it works fine;

    Code:
    DirectoryIndex index_good.html index.html index.php 
    Create an index_good.html and place it in the same directory, along side index.html and index.php files.
    index_good.html comes up in your browser, first as expected.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    No. Place it in the directory you want this to work. Every folder inside that folder will use that same .htaccess
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. swabij

    swabij Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    ill try it :)
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It'll work. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. swabij

    swabij Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    it did not work..

    do i need to make it like this?:
    <Directory /foo>
    DirectoryIndex index_good.html index.html index.php
    </Directory>

    i shall make a front page.

    i got 1 question more.

    i need to send the files to public_html to get it up right??
     
    #14 swabij, May 7, 2013
    Last edited: May 7, 2013
  15. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Just as I posted it, worked for me, in my .htaccess

    We're here all night. :)

    Yes, you'd need to actually have the file in the same directory as that htaccess, that is named index_good.html
    If you want this to be in the public_html/ directory, yes, you'd upload the index_good.html to that same directory as you placed the .htaccess

    HTH! :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. swabij

    swabij Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    try this website:/http://mainlypvpmc.com//

    i done like you did and my page is not showing anything..

    help!
     
  17. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You've got more going on there in that htaccess than we know about I think. domain.com doesn't open. domain.com/index.html forwards to www.domain.com domain.com/index_good.html doesn't work.

    You might want to check file permissions. You might also want to check with your Hosting Provider.

    If you remove the htaccess all together, rename it htaccess_junk for example, remove index.* and add a plain text file named index.html then, domain.com should open and you'd be looking at domain.com/index.html, a blank white text file you just uploaded.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Your domain doesn't work properly it seems:
    /http://www.intodns.com/mainlypvpmc.com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The correct filename is .htaccess (not .htacces).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice