The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

htaccess allow/deny not works

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by maxo-tt, Nov 17, 2014.

  1. maxo-tt

    maxo-tt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    hello, on my cpanel server ip deny not works via htaccess

    my .htaccess looks like this. but everyone can visit the website :/

    Code:
    RewriteEngine on
    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    allow from 1.2.3.4
    
    any ideas?
     
    #1 maxo-tt, Nov 17, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2014
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Have you verified the domain name resolves to your server? It's possible that it's loading content from another server and thus the .htaccess file is not utilized. Also, did you name the file ".htaccess"?

    Thank you.
     
  3. maxo-tt

    maxo-tt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    you of course, i'm not that noob )

    so i have stats page i need to close

    stats.prohosting.ge
    dir /home/prohosti/stats

    so i've created there .htaccess file. tried everything but not works anyways :/
    i've tried on other domains also. on root prohosting.ge for example

    tried also
    <Limit GET POST>
    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    allow from 1.2.3.4
    </Limit>

    like this... no changes at all. make changes in /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf file. not works anyways.

    looks strange. that command work on my second server (got directadmin there), maybe Cpanel requires something done different?
     
    #3 maxo-tt, Nov 18, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2014
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page