The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

.htaccess Issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Rogan76, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. Rogan76

    Rogan76 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please forgive me if this question has been asked, but I cant seem to find a correct answer....

    My scenario is I have a VPS with WHM access, I have two cpanel accounts the first is my main website and it is working perfectly with opencart.

    The second is a new website with Valina forums installed on it, for some reason I am having an issue with pretty urls. I find that the issue is with .htaccess, for some reason the .htaccess for the second cpanel account is not being read.

    After googling for quite a while i was not able to find a soultion, is there to configure the server through whm to allow changes to the .htaccess file to take affect on the new cpanel account?

    I have seen some talk about editing through Apache Configuration but I am abit lost?

    Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Silly question I'm sure. Have you checked to see if the .htaccess is actually there in the root of the account, named correctly and has the proper permissions?
     
  3. Rogan76

    Rogan76 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Infopro,

    Thank you for your reply, I have checked the root directory and the file is in the correct location with a permission of 775 and named correctly.

    Thank you for your reply :)
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Just for fun, Password protect a directory, any directory on that account. If Vanilla is in /forum/ pass protect it via cPanel. And then try to access it from your browser. Do you get a popup asking for a password when you do?
     
  5. Rogan76

    Rogan76 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have password protected a directory and when I go to the directory is does not ask for any credentials?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please make sure you've cleared your browser cache, and also try another browser just to rule out browser issues.
     
Loading...

Share This Page