The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

.htaccess problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shahar, Aug 5, 2004.

  1. Shahar

    Shahar Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello everyone.

    It is pretty late now and i'm in a hurry so i'll describe my problem as good as I can
    and tomorrow i'll have more time to give other specific details if we fail to find a solution :)

    I have a website written in PHP, i've decided to use the LoopBack function of apache and
    use the 'frienly' urls. for example, http://domain.com/acticles/subject/bla/.

    Everything is well coded and finished, I tested everything along with the filename, meaning:
    http://mydomain.com/index.php/acticles/subject/bla/

    Everything works fine as expected. the PHP code takes the url, breaks it down and knows
    exactly what to give me as an output.

    Now i'm finally all done with coding, and I want to release the site, but obviously I want to
    get rid of using that index.php in every url, and just use the domain, and virtual folders.

    So I take it off, and I surf to a url without the filename.
    if I surt right into the file itself (domain.com/index.php) it works.
    but when I add more variables (domain.com/articles/bla) it fails to work.

    So, as expected, I need to you the ForceType command in my .htaccess, and probably add
    this:

    <Directory />
    AcceptPathInfo On
    </Directory>

    too.

    Problem is, whenever I add ANYTHING to my htaccess file, even a blank directory open and close tags, or a deny all request, it gives me a 500 error.

    DirectoryIndex seems to work fine but when I try to add anything else..... bang.

    Can you think of something causing this?

    Sorry can't stay more, please help me, thank you all in advance.
    I shall return tomorrow, and hopefully the issue will be solved, I Got a website to release :S

    Thanks Again,
    Shahar.
     
  2. Shahar

    Shahar Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I.. don't think so.
     
  3. Shahar

    Shahar Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok I've managed to solve the issue myself..

    Nothing a little bit of reading can't fix :D

    Thanks for your time, feel free to ignore/delete this post.
     
  4. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    So what did you find out?

    Posting your findings helps other users and can also serve as a reference for yourself should you forget how you did it or loose your notes on it down the road.

    Just saying that you fixed it does not add much to the community.

    Thank you.
     
  5. bigpy2003

    bigpy2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is a problem that is happening to me, can anyone help?
     
Loading...

Share This Page