The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTML Editor and odd characters

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by livesol, May 17, 2006.

  1. livesol

    livesol Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi All,

    We have recently started having problems with HTML Editor. When a client of ours uses the Editor to make changes to their website, and then hits "save", the page saves fine, but it now has an unusual array of odd characters appearing.

    The most common one is a A with a ^ on the top. It has been suggested that it is something to do wth encoding, so I changed one of the websites to use UTF-8 encoding, but still the same problem.

    This problem persists using either IE or Firefox.

    I have done some searching on the forum, and many people mention the problem, but I cant find any mention of a resolution. It would be really helpful to know how to fix this, we have 10 or so clients that have been using HTML Editor for over a year now, and now it is broken. Would be a major mission to get them sorted with something else.

    Our Cpanel build is WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-R83

    We would be very appreciative of any help.

    Thank you

    Grant
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    We are having the same thing happen. Currently using Cpanel 10.8.2-C92. It even changes the background color when switching between the code view and visual options. One page was using bgcolor="#0000c0" and every time the view was switched, the c was shifted left 2 places. Very weird.
     
  3. livesol

    livesol Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes it is very odd, and no-one as yet has a fix. This is such a shame as the functionality is so good for our clients.
     
  4. livesol

    livesol Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Daily bump :) - anyone have any ideas how tio fix this?
     
  5. onthewayinc

    onthewayinc Registered

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does CPanel know about this?
     
  6. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  7. livesol

    livesol Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would hope so since it is a a feature of cpanel (or Web Host Manager, that is a feature of cpanel) I may be wrong and would love to be pointed in the right direction.

    There were a few other threads in this forum about it and some in this Cpanel category, so I thought it would be a good place to ask. None of the other threads offered a solution either, so maybe I have the wrong section of the forum.

    If I am in the wrong place, does anyone know where I may find a fix for HTML Editor (displaying odd characters), that is found in Web Host Manager that is found in Cpanel?

    Any hints or clues would be greatly appreciated :)
     
  8. livesol

    livesol Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Wonderful CKH - I will need to register an account there and support the case ( think that is how it works) If it is fixed, it would be great to show the fix here :D
     
  9. livesol

    livesol Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Any news anyone - any fixes??
     
  10. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    We need some votes on the bug. Right now, I'm the only vote. C'mon folks. Put in some votes. ;)
     
  11. chae

    chae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    What I've done as a temporary solution is load on for the customer a copy of Fileman - there is a server wide copy which costs or a free copy for single users.

    Server admin after loading may want to change the fileman.cgi script to allow the user access to only certain portions of the scripts.

    S'Later

    Chae
     
  12. aeroweb

    aeroweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    #12 aeroweb, May 22, 2006
    Last edited: May 22, 2006
  13. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Current version is 2.2.9.1 and the version on our server is 2.2.2. I wonder if the newer version has this fixed.
     
  14. aeroweb

    aeroweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We switched back to the older 10.8.1-STABLE_114 from 10.8.2-RELEASE_83 and the problem is gone.

    No more crazy Â's :)
     
  15. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That's what I was just thinking about doing. Thanks. Now I will since I know it'll fix it. :)
     
  16. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I downgraded to Cpanel 10.8.1-S114 and the funny characters are gone, but I still get the c in the bgcolor tag (#0000c0) shifting left when I switch between the code view and visual editor view.

    Very weird. If I knew PHP like I knew perl, I'd go into the editor program and fix it.
     
  17. chae

    chae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
  18. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just to let you know that stable contains the remote exploit vulnerable version of WYSIWYGPro. Don't downgrade to stable unless you want your sites defaced.
     
  19. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Great. Either possible defacing of having to manually fix clients pages after their done editing.

    This should be a high priority bug.
     
  20. livesol

    livesol Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Agreed, I suppose for the moment we have the choice of an intentionally defaced site or an unintentionally defaced site. Both options undesirable.

    The link to the WYSIWYG forum mentions changing the character encoding of the site to cope with the update. Does anyone know what encoding to change it to and if this works?

    I have tried UTF-8 and charset=iso-8859-1. Both of these return the defacement ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page