The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTML Editor problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by scotleag, Nov 7, 2005.

1. scotleag

scotleag Registered

Hi all. Hope someone can help. I've been using cpanel for around six months now and have only one problem. The WYSIWYG html editor acts rather erratically regarding punctuation, inserting all sorts of weird and wonderful symbols where I've actually used commas, exclamation marks, parentheses, question marks etc.

I'm on a Mac(G5 iMac, OSX 10.4.3) and presume this may be why I'm getting these odd outcomes. Is there anything I can do to resolve the issue? Otherwise I'm delighted with cpanel. I'd just like to be able to update/edit my website with it. At present any update just looks like a mess.

Thanks in advance.

2. bamasbest

bamasbest Well-Known Member

To be honest, IMO, many browser based WYSIWYG's are rather limited in capabilty, especially with the manner in which they deal with special characters.

Since you already have at least 6 months of experience maintaining/creating web pages, why not graduate to the next level.

1. Search for an html editor that you can use on your MAC. There are many available costing anywhere from nothing to thousands of dollars AND even the free ones usually provide you with more "power" when it comes to formatting and presenting your pages.

2. Create/edit/maintain your web pages on your MAC.

3. FTP (file transfer program) your files from your MAC to your web space. Again, FTP clients can be had for free.

3. scotleag

scotleag Registered